Skip to content

Entry 400 360! and Maryland Sheep and Wool

June 6, 2011
by

Due to blog move and housecleaning, not entry 400 anymore… all previous citations of comment numbers of entry numbers are now inaccurate…

Another Sheep and Wool has come and gone. I bought just a few things, I tried to be very good this year.

In back, 8 ounces of BFL/tussah from Bullen’s Woolens. I bought some of this last year and it’s lovely, I had to have more. Then, one 4 ounce braid of, yes, BFL from Mss Babs. I would have bought a second one if she’d had a match but that was the only one. One skein of sock yarn that I bought at Cloverhill – I think it’s Unique Sheep but I don’t remember for sure. It has a cute little line drawing of a sheep in purple on the label. And there is a lock of the fleece I bought, a five pound silver Border Leicester. I’m washing and combing it myself, it was a very good price too.
This was the top item on my shopping list, a purpleheart boat shuttle from the Bosworths.

It has a lovely, slightly matte finish compared to my two Leclerc shuttles, and some weight to it.
I went a little crazy and entered five things in the skein and garment competition. It’s a good thing I did. The two best spinners I know from around here didn’t enter anything this year.
My last entry, almost an afterthought, was a skein of 2 ply in a sort of laceweight, spun from wool given to me by a friend in my spinning group. It gave me FITS plying because there was so much of it and it stuck together so much, but when it was done it looked pretty good so I threw it in the dyepot on Wednesday and submitted it on Friday. They do like to get things made from Maryland wool.

A skein I’d been planning all along to submit was my three ply worsted weight wool made from a blend of natural dark and light BFL. I really spun three ply with this, I didn’t cheat and navajo ply for no particular reason other than convenience. I knew it was a nice skein but I didn’t know it’d get Best Handspun Skein.

My Lissajous socks from handspun got a blue ribbon in their category too! And I got a white ribbon for another skein I put in. This year I decided to stick to handspun.

I put a shawl in the handspun shawls category too, but let me tell you, competition in that category is fierce! There were what seemed like dozens of lace shawls, made from both handspun and commercial yarn – shawls everywhere.

One of the weaving prizes went to this lovely jacket. You may be able to see that the yoke is felted.

We had a very nice time this year. We arrived right at 9, so there was a period of maybe 30 minutes when we could just walk through the main building and look around. I think having that calm time at the beginning made the whole day seem relaxed.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2011 5:48 pm

    WOW! CONGRATULATIONS! Happy Dance for YOU!
    Lovely Skeins!…and very deserving of the prizes!

  2. Melanie permalink
    June 6, 2011 11:39 pm

    Lovely, lovely skeins! Congratultions on your ribbons, they’re well-deserved.

  3. Theresa N. permalink
    June 16, 2011 4:33 pm

    Congrats, Caroline. Very nice job!

  4. July 20, 2011 10:50 am

    congratulations on all the ribbons and the lovely acquisitions! that boat shuttle from the Bosworths is gorgeous. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

