Skip to content

Intro

July 23, 2003
by

Note, December 2011 during a blog migration… Since all posts are being gone through, some sort of note is in order since otherwise this whole thing is out of context.  In the summer of 2003, a group blog was started for people who liked to talk about their knitting and/or spinning but didn’t feel like taking on their own blog.  At first, the blog was called Pink Tea, then at some point we changed the name of it to KnitMe.

Over the past eight (!!) years, posters have come and gone.  When migrating the blog this time, there was a lot of manual work needed to insert each photo, so some entries were pruned for various reasons, and some were kept.  There are some Long Lost Authors whose work was so pretty, or whose post was so interesting, that we kept their posts even though we honestly don’t know where they are anymore.  Authors who stuck around until quite recently have their own link in the sidebar; others are marked Long Lost.  This entry probably wasn’t the first created, but it’s the oldest one we still have.

OK, I guess somebody has to say something 🙂 I’m very excited to be part of this virtual soiree and hope others will show up soon.

Last night I finished the front (or maybe it’s the back, I’m not sure) of Scarlett. The yarn is Jamieson Soft Shetland in Lacquer.

Linette

17 Comments
  1. July 23, 2003 6:14 pm

    wow wow wow!! I just love that center panel. You modestly have not said that this is your own design, Linette. You’re busted! What size needle are you using?

  2. July 23, 2003 6:24 pm

    I love the 4 strand braid too.
    What would one call it if made in a different color yarn…??

  3. laura permalink
    July 23, 2003 6:42 pm

    I’ve always loved this design. Beautiful job!

  4. Linette permalink
    July 23, 2003 6:45 pm

    Sheila, I’m using #7 needles.
    Caroline, he-he, maybe we could say Miz Scarlett is feeling blue (or green, or…)

  5. Faylene permalink
    July 23, 2003 7:14 pm

    Just gaw-juss, Miz Linette. Too bad Lacquer just isn’t mah best color.

  6. July 23, 2003 7:19 pm

    lovely, simply lovely…gorgeous knitting.

  7. Ruth permalink
    July 23, 2003 7:41 pm

    Thank you for sharing. This is such a striking piece of work.

  8. vanessa permalink
    July 23, 2003 8:41 pm

    beeuutiful!

  9. July 23, 2003 9:17 pm

    Yeah…. you could say Miss Scarlett is green with envy, purple (or black) with rage, white with fear, yellow with cowardice (who’d wanna knit cowardice?!). I like it! I just wanna know if there is a Rhett in your future.

  10. Roi permalink
    July 23, 2003 10:30 pm

    So Lynette, I’m confused; Sheila remarked that this is your own design and then Laura said, “I’ve always loved this design.”
    I’d love to add this to my wish list; or better yet, could you please put together a kit for procurement? I’d like mine in granny smith.
    Is Jamieson 2 Ply Soft (as printed on my Jamieson’s color card) the same as Jamieson Soft Shetland?
    Ditto all the beautiful comments.

  11. July 24, 2003 12:55 am

    Linette designed Scarlett for a now-defunct project that some other people were on, too, and that’s how Laura knows the design. I think she’s changed it just a tad though since then…

  12. Sam permalink
    July 24, 2003 12:56 am

    So, did I mention how much I love this pattern, and the color – woowee! And you’ve made such great progress – nice work. 🙂

  13. KarenC permalink
    July 24, 2003 2:16 am

    Linette, please make this pattern available! I want to knit it. Truly inspirational!

  14. Linette permalink
    July 24, 2003 4:03 am

    Thanks everybody for the very kind comments. I do plan to make the pattern available, hopefully sooner than later 🙂

  15. Ima Sue Keeper permalink
    July 24, 2003 5:04 am

    This is truly beautiful work! Add me to the list of people who want the pattern. Of course, I won’t be ready to knit it for 18 years or so…

  16. Chertie permalink
    July 24, 2003 5:27 am

    Such a gorgeous design and beautifully executed! I would love to knit it if and when it is available, Linette. Do not hurry with that though as I have way, way too many WIPs strewn about “my” room right now!

  17. Debi permalink
    July 28, 2003 4:32 am

    GREAT sweater Linette, truly dazzling knitting. And the color is scrumptious 🙂
    Please add me to the list of anxious pattern seekers and thanx for sharing your lovely work!

Comments are closed.

