Skip to content

Red vs the blues

July 25, 2003
by

I’m chugging away on Scarlett. I think I’ve entered “the zone” with Scarlett. You know, that state in knitting where your hands do the work with hardly any involvement from your brain. In fact, I’m working at home today trying to finish up a paper that I’m writing, and the only way I seem to make progress is if I allow myself to pick up Scarlett and knit a few rows for every few sentences that I work on. I hope my boss doesn’t see this. But then, if he spends his time reading knitting blogs, it would hardly be a problem, would it ?

In spite of Miss Scarlett’s virtues, however, last night I was feeling a little burnt out by the “redness”, so, feeling the need for some “blueness”, I picked up an old WIP, Marina, and did a few rows. It’s interesting that every photo of Marina I’ve seen online is a little different colorwise. I find the design is more ornate than anything I’m likely to wear, but it’s very pretty and great fun to knit. I’m using the pattern found in the Woolcraft mag. The yarn is Jamieson spindrift.

Linette

8 Comments
  1. July 25, 2003 9:22 pm

    Beautiful! I have the pattern for this from You-Know-What collection, and the J&S yarn stashed. You’re right that each picture looks different, and the yarn looks yet different again. Someday I’ll get to it…

  2. Sheila permalink
    July 25, 2003 10:08 pm

    What a great picture, Linette. I don’t think I’ve ever been able to see the large motif close enough to appreciate it before. Are these colors Rona-like to you (I mean the mauves, not the blues :-)) Or is that my monitor lying to me?

  3. Alexa permalink
    July 25, 2003 10:33 pm

    Linette, this is such an inspiration! I have admired this pattern for a long time, but yours is really smashing. Are the colors as prescribed or did you alter them at all? I take it the Woolcraft colorway is slightly different than SC, or is the photo in SC just off? Thanks so much for sharing this.

  4. Wendy in HOusTon permalink
    July 25, 2003 10:35 pm

    Wow, absolutely GORGEOUS Linette! I, too, have never really seen the motif up close and personal, and it’s MUCH prettier than I could ever have imagined. I’m always amazed at how that works.
    I feel silly for asking, but these ARE the original colors, right? The pics I’ve seen (in the un-named Collection) look much more orange-y and decidedly less pink/mauve. Stunning.
    W

  5. Linette permalink
    July 25, 2003 10:41 pm

    I didn’t do any deliberate color changes, but I did convert to Spindrift (I think the original colors were meant for J&S). It does end up looking a little different from the photo in Woolcraft. I have never seen SC in real life, just online, but from I’ve seen, the photo there looks just like the one in Woolcraft.
    Sheila, yes, some of those colors are in Rona as well (my, what sharp eyes you have, Madame!)

  6. Ima Sue Keeper permalink
    July 25, 2003 10:46 pm

    Bee-u-tif-ful! Lovely work, and a pleasing color scheme to the eye. I wonder what you will surprise us with next!

  7. Faylene permalink
    July 25, 2003 11:52 pm

    Oh, do please pass the smelling salts, Madame! I’m so overcome by the beauteous Marina that I’m feeling quite faint.

  8. July 26, 2003 4:26 am

    Marina is simply divine!

Comments are closed.

