Skip to content

Not Many Buttons, Not Very Successful

July 27, 2003
by

The (Not) Many Button Vest is finished. I am really not sure I like how this came out. The original pattern is in Folk Vests, but I am sure Cheryl Oberle wouldn’t endorse what I’ve done to it!!

It all started with 6 hanks of Noro Silk Country in a lovely blue (mostly silk, with some black and brown alpaca fluff plyed in). Surely 360 yards of this discontinued stuff would be more than enough to make the front of the vest and the I cord finish, and I could use something else for the back.

A few small lots of this yarn popped up on eBay but not this shade. I bought 4 hanks of cream to make the back, it seemed a better idea than using some totally different yarn in a dark grey I had lying around.

Well, it took every bit of 6 hanks to make the fronts, so I went searching for more cream to be able to complete the back.

That was when I discovered I could have gotten more blue easily because this yarn is in the discontinued bins at lots of retailers. Sigh. But I’d committed to the cream. So I got more cream and more blue.

Final result: I used 6 hanks for the fronts, 6 hanks for the back, and just under one hank for all the I cord. I also did the 3-needle shoulder bindoff and the crocheted side seams with the ridges on the outside, because whichever color I used, it would show in a tacky way. I was right about the side seams, but the shoulders would have looked better if I’d put the ridge on the inside – a 3 needle bindoff really is almost invisible.

I’m puzzled by the variability just between these 2 shades of the same yarn. The blue is a bit shiny, and slightly liquid in the hand. The cream is absolutely matte like cotton. Go figure.

The garter stitch is very cuddly, and this will be cozy and warm. But I’m not sure if I like it!! And I still have 2 hanks of blue and 1 hank of cream hanging around to remind me that originally this project was supposed to USE UP stash and not ADD TO it. Sigh. At least I’m pretty sure that I don’t want to add insult to injury by sticking a bunch of buttons on it….

5 Comments
  1. Faylene permalink
    July 27, 2003 9:11 pm

    Ah, Miss Fiddletwist! I was wondering when you might come sashaying out of the kudzu – or the spinning porch!
    Don’t you just hate it when a knitted something just doesn’t come out the way you had hoped and/or planned? May I suggest that you immediately console yourself by casting on for something else? Or perhaps a bit of purchasing is in order?
    Do remember, my dear, that the Dog Days of summer are almost over and the Cat Days of autumn are sure to bring cheer to all concerned.
    Faylene

  2. Linette permalink
    July 27, 2003 9:45 pm

    Dear Prudence, I can certainly relate to being less than pleased with a FO. But your vest is indeed warm and cozy, and your prolificness astounding. Can’t wait to see what you come out with next!

  3. Faylene permalink
    July 28, 2003 12:14 am

    Prudence, my dear!
    Just reviewed the comments and realized that I accidentally referred to you as Miss Fiddletwist, instead of LADY Fiddletwist. I hope that I may presume upon our friendship and that you will forgive my unacceptable “fox paws,” which I can only attribute to the canine nature of the season, as well as an excessive intake of mint juleps!
    Yours in yarn,
    Faylene (certainly no lady)

  4. Prudence permalink
    July 28, 2003 2:33 am

    I seem to be driven to finish things. Right now I actually only have 2 WIPs – a plain cotton shell on size 8 needles that I’m working on during lunch hours, and the Rose Trellis top from Heartstrings which I started just last week. Perhaps I may start something else in the next day or two, just to see what happens if I do!

  5. Sheila permalink
    July 28, 2003 2:35 pm

    Well, it looks warm and cozy, so you can wear it around the house if you don’t feel comfortable wearing it out in public. Or, you could wear it under a coat or blazer. I agree, the experiment of combining the two colors wasn’t as successful as one might have hoped. But an FO is an FO, congrats!

Comments are closed.

