Skip to content

Fair Isle Swatch

August 3, 2003
by

To take a break from Scarlett, I swatched an FI design that I had doodled on the computer. My goal was to come up with a pretty but casual fair isle with a faded denim-y look. Oh, and to use the color “leprechaun” in a design. I adapted a chart from Sheila McGregor’s FI book. The color scheme was inspired by a photo of a museum-piece sweater which appears in Anne Feitelson’s book. I like the swatch a lot but wonder if it would look dorky if knitted up as a whole sweater. I might just give it a try.

Here’s the chart I created:

And here it is in yarn:

Linette

12 Comments
  1. August 3, 2003 1:39 am

    That swatch is very very nice. What I did was back up my computer chair all the way across the room to get an idea of what the swatch would look like in a sweater. I think it would be absolutely wonderful, especially with jeans. It’s not going to be terribly striped (horizontally) because the tones are similar, and the reddish stripes will be fairly far apart from one another. What I really like is the way you’ve got the larger star motifs framed. Nice work!

  2. August 3, 2003 1:54 am

    Gorgeous! Gorgeous! Gorgeous!
    I hope you do decide to work up a whole sweater. I would LOVE to see it.

  3. August 3, 2003 3:12 am

    That is really nice. I love the palette and I like the fact that there isn’t a lot of bold striping. I also like the – what should I call it – the diagonal of it? the way the two motifs alternate with one another in each band of patterning so they each get to be done in both color groups. I think it would look great in a drop shoulder pullover.

  4. Faylene permalink
    August 3, 2003 2:05 pm

    Oh, Linette! How beautiful! I love the color progression – reminds me a little bit of Marina for some reason (perhaps the red?) Yes, yes, a whole sweater would be wonderful. OTOH, I think it would be a great vest – for a woman or a man.

  5. August 3, 2003 2:45 pm

    It is beautiful. Isn’t designing your own, putting your own goals in it, FUN?
    I like the diagonals taking the importance away from the striping.

  6. Linette permalink
    August 3, 2003 5:54 pm

    Yes, Liz, this was way fun! I’ve got a few more charts that I’ve doodled and can’t wait to swatch them too and see what happens. Faylene, it’s that wreath thingy around the star that’s like the motif in Marina. Apparently it’s a traditional Norwegian pattern (see also Wendy J.’s Frogner) that the shetlanders adopted. Of course, Alice uses it in her own special way. Thanks for all the encouragement, guys!

  7. August 3, 2003 10:49 pm

    hi linette – i say go for it – would make a beautiful sweater!

  8. Wendy in Houston permalink
    August 4, 2003 5:28 pm

    Oh Linette. Can’t wait until this is published (hint, hint)! I want to knit it, too!

  9. Jen permalink
    August 5, 2003 2:20 pm

    Yowza! I love this design, Linette. It is pretty, with a casual flair. You must publish this!

  10. Angela permalink
    August 6, 2003 12:58 am

    Linette, I love that design. I’ll test knit since I’m about the same size as you – hint hint!

  11. judy permalink
    December 10, 2003 6:39 am

    Beautiful. I am going to try your mofif/colors – maybe on a hat if you think that will work.
    I am new at Fair Isle, just finishing up on a childrens vest & simple pattern. However, it is taking me longer to work in the ends than it did to knit the vest. Any suggestions on an easier way to deal with the ends for my next project? Any help from a seasoned FI knitter would be GREATLY appreciated. thanks…judy

  12. January 12, 2004 1:26 pm

    Gorgeous. Makes me itch to get the graph paper out.

Comments are closed.

