Skip to content

Royal Purple

August 4, 2003
by

Here’s an attempt at photographing my WIP of the Byzantine Bazic sweater from the fall Interweave Knits. It’s designed by Kathy Zimmerman for some big fat yarn, but I don’t do big fat yarn so I started it in the Berroco Bluefaced Leicester I just got from WEBS (this shade is called ‘dahlia’). What you see is the 20 rows of welt, plus the first 6 rows of the body pattern. The piece is too wide to stretch it out for the picture, but in the center you can see the cables from the welt opening up to meet and cross in the middle. I knew this was going to be a hard color to photograph – but I hope you can see what a wonderful sheen this yarn has.

This pattern requires a certain amount of alertness, because in between some of the moving lines there’s moss stitch instead of just purls, so you need to pay attention to whether you knit or purl the stitches that cross in back, and it has nothing to do with what a stitch was before the twist.
The more I work on it, the better I like it. That center panel is to die for. This is the first time I’ve received a magazine and just HAD to start something from it immediately. Isn’t it funny, with all the yarn and patterns stashed around, I had to start the newest pattern in the door with the newest yarn in the door.

6 Comments
  1. Sheila permalink
    August 4, 2003 5:44 am

    It’s gorgeous, Caroline! I can see why you’d want to dive right in 🙂

  2. janet permalink
    August 4, 2003 3:57 pm

    Looks great, Caroline
    I like the smaller gauge better. I can see that already.
    It amazes me how pretty the BFL is. I may just have to catch the wave and go looking at finished yarns, too. WEBS, you say…
    Thanks for the look-see.
    Janet

  3. Linette permalink
    August 4, 2003 5:41 pm

    That yarn *does* look very scrumptious. I’m looking forward to seeing the pattern grow, as I haven’t seen that issue of IK yet.

  4. Ima Sue Keeper permalink
    August 4, 2003 8:58 pm

    Dear Prudence,
    You made me do it! I broke down and ordered some BFL from webs after seeing your post. I’ve also been thinking of making this sweater from the latest IK. Have you made any adjustments for the different yarn? Or did you just chose to go up a size? Curious minds want to know.
    Ima Sue

  5. Prudence permalink
    August 5, 2003 2:49 am

    Hello Ima Sue – I actually didn’t do anything different except go down one needle size. I thought knitting this yarn on a size 9 would be too loose, and I can still see room for going down one more size, except that I’m pretty much getting gauge (or, I did when I swatched…). I don’t like my sweaters hugely oversized so if it comes out 37 inches around it will be about right for me. (5 stitches to the inch on size 8 is what it said on the ball band, so I felt like I was in the right ballpark using size 8.)
    It’s beautiful yarn, you won’t be sorry!

  6. August 5, 2003 12:38 pm

    you know i kind of liked that pattern but the bulkiness/oversized look to it really bugged me – it didn’t seem like it *fit* the pattern – great idea to just go down in yarn/needle! looks great!

Comments are closed.

