Skip to content

HK Sampler Stole

August 8, 2003
by

I finally cast on for my Shetland stole last night. The plan is to knit a Shetland sampler stole using patterns from Sharon Miller’s book, Heirloom Knitting. As a guide to the construction, I’m using Miller’s instructions for the Unst stole in her book. First, with a 2-ply lace yarn, I cast on 145 stitches (seemed like a good stitch count based on most of the lace stitches which I think I’ll be doing), then knit 4 rows. These are throw-away rows which will be discarded later. Then I join in the cobweb yarn and knit another 4 rows, then a row of eyelets, then knit 3 rows. Now I’m ready to start the first lace pattern.

Here’s a close-up of the little eyelets, all in row. Aren’t they cute?

Onward. For the first lace motif I chose a trellis diamond pattern because I wanted something really easy. After one repeat of this, though, I started getting bored. So I did another divider sequence (an eyelet row with 3 rows of garter stitch before and after), then one repeat of the “madeira” pattern, another easy one. Both “trellis diamond” and “madeira” are graded as level *** (three stars) by Miller because every other row is a plain knit row. Having warmed up a bit, I think I’m ready now to graduate to a (****) level pattern.

Linette

7 Comments
  1. Sheila permalink
    August 10, 2003 12:54 am

    I’m so delighted by what you’ve done!!! Look at it– it’s just beautiful, just so delicate and intricate.

  2. August 10, 2003 2:25 am

    Really pretty! What size needles are you using???

  3. Linette permalink
    August 10, 2003 6:40 am

    Thanks! Me, I’m in love with this baby! I’m using 2.5 mm needles. It’s hard to photograph unblocked lace. The knitting isn’t really as dense at it looks in the photo – it’s much more airy. Next time I’ll stretch it out on my corkboard.

  4. June permalink
    August 10, 2003 5:34 pm

    This is absolutely beautiful Linette! What is the name of the yarn you are working with?? Can’t wait to see it stretched out!

  5. Linette permalink
    August 10, 2003 8:49 pm

    Thanks, June! The yarn is Jamieson & Smith’s cobweb lace yarn. Great stuff.

  6. vanessa permalink
    August 11, 2003 3:20 pm

    linette, it’s lovely!

  7. Sam permalink
    August 11, 2003 5:11 pm

    I’m in awe of the cobweb – what a gorgeous thing! šŸ™‚

Comments are closed.

