Skip to content

Creatures of the Soiree

August 16, 2003

Alright – finally, as promised, my first Pink Tea entry: Legends of the Shetland Seas (Hazel Carter pattern from Blackberry Ridge) in Lisa Souza’s Sea Glass colorway. I did not expect to enjoy lace knitting as much as it turns out that I am. It’s wonderful to be learning some new techniques and it’s a joy to work with this beautiful yarn. I was concerned when I began, as I really couldn’t see the pattern developing very well, but after a complete repeat of the first two charts, I can see things shaping up nicely. Initially, I had some difficulty finding the right needles for me. I started out on Addi Turbos, but found them far too slippery. I’m now working on Addi Natura bamboos and having a much better time. I look forward to trying the Inox needles that Madame picked up for me, as they have a bit sharper point that I think will be very helpful. More as it happens…

8 Comments
  1. August 17, 2003 12:38 am

    Ooh that colour is SO gorgeous! I never would have believed it to be SO beautiful if I hadn’t seen it with my own eyes. Oooh, beautiful!!

  2. Marcia permalink
    August 17, 2003 12:45 am

    Now I wish I had saved my Seaglass for LOTSS! WoW!Maybe I’ll have to rip out COTR when I’m finished and re-use the yarn. Oh wait, Lisa Souza is still dyeing , isn’t she? Hmmmmmm.

  3. Wendy in Houston permalink
    August 17, 2003 1:00 am

    Simply stunning. Don’t make me change my mind about the sea creatures-themed lace projects…

  4. August 17, 2003 6:09 pm

    That is absoLUTELY out of this world! I hope you’ll share this beautiful image with all of us who are struggling with this nasty pattern over on the LoTSS-along site? Pretty please? It’s an inspiration.
    Helen

  5. Linette permalink
    August 19, 2003 10:48 am

    Sam, that is just incredibly beautiful and inspiring! I’m really looking forward to seeing it progress.

  6. Prudence permalink
    August 19, 2003 6:40 pm

    I’ve looked at this picture approximately 6,523 times and just noticed Sherlock’s approving presence.

  7. Sam permalink
    August 20, 2003 1:36 am

    Thank you everyone for your very kind words. I’m sure they’ll keep me going through all the times that I’ll be tinking on this thing. Marcia, get some more Sea Glass! 🙂 And, come on, Wendy – join us! Sea creatures are fun. Helen, Sheila took this photo at the Soiree, so the credit (and the rights!) belong to her. You know, it wasn’t until someone on list mentioned him that I realized Sherlock was there, too. How blind am I?!? 😉 Thanks again to all of you. Everyone should be so fortunate as to have such a cheering section.

  8. August 21, 2003 2:57 pm

    Oh, use the photo wherever it’s needed… it wouldn’t have been possible without Sam’s beautiful knitting! Sherlock, it seems, is a camera hog.

Comments are closed.

