Skip to content

Rose Trellis

August 20, 2003
by

Here’s a new FO. This is the ‘Rose Trellis’ pullover from Heartstrings Fiber Arts. What an extremely clever pattern – knitted in the round to the armholes, then the yokes are worked separately front and back for awhile, then finally you knit each shoulder up and over the tops of the yokes. You’d have to see it to believe it. No finishing except under the arms.

The yarn is from ‘Color-Me’ which seems to be a small one-woman operation, and it’s 50% silk and 50% wool – unbelievably soft and smooth, it was like knitting with spun water. This will be for autumn and winter wear under a cardigan or shawl.

It got done very quickly, yes it did… the reason why is something I can’t say on the air, except to say that some illicit knitting went on….

As I type this, I’m reminded that Rose Trellis was the nasty boss in some comic strip I used to love but don’t get to see in the Baltimore paper. Anybody remember?

{-Prudence, get off the #%^& blog already!-}

OK – someone else post before I do it again!!

9 Comments
  1. Linette permalink
    August 20, 2003 9:03 am

    Pretty, pretty! Another FO from Lady Fiddletwist, I am agog! I remember that comic, it’s called “On the Fast Track”. Rose Trellis is the lady who looks like a sweet old grandma but is as ruthless as they come.

  2. August 20, 2003 10:22 am

    Oh, yeah! And Melody Acappella who worked at Fastrack (didn’t she have a precocious little girl), and didn’t she marry some nice quiet guy named Bob…

  3. August 20, 2003 11:25 am

    Oops no, wrong comic… sigh.

  4. Sheila permalink
    August 20, 2003 2:42 pm

    Lovely, Lady F, just lovely!

  5. Angela permalink
    August 20, 2003 2:53 pm

    I am a green with envy Caroline. What a lovely FO. Obviously, I must start working on my WIPS more diligently if I am to catch up to you.

  6. Wendy in Houston permalink
    August 20, 2003 4:56 pm

    Caroline, it’s simply beautiful. Where did you get the “Color-Me”? She was trying to sell her business a while back, and I spoke to her briefly about it. I wonder if she ever sold it…

  7. August 20, 2003 6:37 pm

    It was given to me by a little bird, and it came from a yarn shop in Idaho or someplace. When I checked her website she didn’t list this blend anymore and the site hadn’t been updated in ages. I had one hank left, guess I’ll hoard it – what to do with 110 yards of this??

  8. August 21, 2003 3:58 am

    Just lovely! You know, I’m still thinking of warm winter woolies at the moment as it’s still winter over here but I’ve caught myself looking at items to knit for summer. This would be perfect. I love something that has an interesting design to it. There sure are some nice patterns over at Heartstrings Fiber Arts.

  9. September 28, 2003 11:04 pm

    Color Me yarns & fibers are still available. They are now being produced in Texas! The original owner, Micayla Lee, sold the business over a year ago. You can contact the new owner Penny Skelley at info@colormeyarn.com.
    I use the Color Me fiber to spin up my own unique yarns and then make my spindlepins out of it. YOu can see it on my website if you like.
    http://members.toast.net/nwspinner
    bj

Comments are closed.

