Skip to content

Didn’t do a whole lot

August 25, 2003
by

Didn’t do a whole lot of knitting this weekend but I plyed like crazy on Saturday. Two almost-full bobbins of Bluefaced Leicester single became these.

The bottom one is about 180 yards, the middle one is about 66 yards, and the top one is about 20 yards. The top one is spindle-plyed from the leftovers on one of the bobbins when the other bobbin ran out.

I’m excited about these because they spun up at such a nice weight – looks like sport to me! It’s very different from the two hanks I spun before, which are pretty much worsted, but it’s much more usable, at least to me. This time, I plyed a whole lot tighter than I did before and it really paid off. Thanks to Sam’s plying lesson I used my finger to unzip the twist and control it running back up the singles, so I got a nice uniform twist.

I have about 6 ounces of top left, if I can spin it all at this weight I’ll really have something.
I promise I’ll do knitting photos next time – I’m almost up to the armholes on my Byzantine sweater and I’ve done 60 rows on the Faroese Style shawl.

7 Comments
  1. August 25, 2003 8:49 am

    Looks like you’re a veteran spinner now, lovely lovely yarn 🙂

  2. Linette permalink
    August 25, 2003 10:13 am

    Wow! That’s some great-looking yarn! What are you going to knit with it?

  3. Prudence permalink
    August 25, 2003 10:16 am

    Hm, I don’t know yet. I guess it depends on whether I can spin it all like this, then I’ll have to assess wraps per inch… Aagh, no wonder people just accumulate handspun beautiful yarn in baskets….

  4. August 25, 2003 11:52 am

    Wow! That’s lovely stuff. Looks like it’s got a nice shine too it too. Might you dye it? I’ll bet it would take color beautifully.

  5. August 26, 2003 5:27 am

    I don’t know – I like the color the way it is, actually, especially with that luster it has.

  6. Helen in New Hampshire permalink
    August 26, 2003 2:47 pm

    There’s just something so “homely” (in the earthy sense) and comforting and appealing about homespun in natural, non-dyed colors. You almost don’t want to knit it… just LOOK at it and snuggle it. GOOD for YOU ! This is just beautiful. KEEP GOING !
    Helen

  7. vanessa permalink
    August 28, 2003 5:32 am

    caroline, that yarn just makes me want to squeeze it, do they have squeezavision yet?

Comments are closed.

