Skip to content

Uh, still Sampling…

August 26, 2003
by

One of the hardest things about blogging, I find, is thinking of snappy titles for my entries. Some people, like Sheila and Prudence, are really good at it. I, obviously, am not.

The good news is that I made some more progress on my stole. I chose a pretty but very easy pattern to go after the spider webs. It was easy enough that I could quickly add some inches to my stole (it’s just a little over 12″ long now). The next pattern (you can see it beginning to form at the top) is a more challenging one, so it might be a while before the next photo.

Linette

7 Comments
  1. August 26, 2003 10:37 am

    How wide is it (unblocked of course…)?
    It’s so pretty, it looks like it’s made of sugar.
    I realize that despite not having any white lace yarn in my stash, I have this feeling that it isn’t REAL lace unless it’s WHITE. Guess I need to go buy some yarn, yeah, that’s it…

  2. August 26, 2003 1:24 pm

    What is the name of the pattern after spider webs? It is verrry pretty. I could see using it for a whole shawl center…

  3. Linette permalink
    August 26, 2003 1:50 pm

    Caroline, it’s about 17″ wide, unblocked. I’m hoping that with edging and blocking it’ll come out to at least 24″. I’m actually dying to knit a shawl or stole in black, but the idea of working with black cobweb scares me a little.
    Sheila, the pattern is called “Madeira and Diamond”, page 97. It’s very easy and works up *fast*. I also think it would make a great shawl center. I love how Sharon includes suggestions with each pattern on how one might modify it or use it in a garment.

  4. Helen in New Hampshire permalink
    August 26, 2003 2:45 pm

    oh that is just absolutely grand. You are feeding my frenzy for lace work. This is the Unst in Heirloom Knitting? Oh maaaaaan ??? I was trying to talk myself OUT of spending $55 for a book. Look what you’re doing to my poor, aching budget.
    Helen

  5. August 26, 2003 11:47 pm

    Beautiful! Beautiful! Beeeautiful!!!
    You hear me?!
    ;o)

  6. Linette permalink
    August 27, 2003 2:10 pm

    Thanks, Helen and Dot! Helen, HK is worth it – you’ll love it 🙂

  7. vanessa permalink
    August 28, 2003 5:33 am

    oh, linette, simply lovely!

Comments are closed.

