Skip to content

Mutant Handspun Sock

October 1, 2003
by

Here’s the followup to my dye experiment from last week. This is the first of two socks using the yarn. I split the hank into equal sized balls using my swift, and knitted till I ran out of the first ball then joined in some Country Garden DK I had left from another sock, and finished it off.

It’s so hard to catch in a photograph the colors of this yarn, but it’s definitely NOT just one color, it has some nice shading of purple among the blue.

Turns out it’s a VERY DENSE yarn and actually knitted like worsted (heavier than the Country Garden), so this is one warm sock! I reinforced the heel with reinforcing thread because it’s 100% merino, and meant to do the same to the toe but forgot… what can I say, I was on a conference call while doing it. I wonder if I can go back and duplicate-stitch the toe with the reinforcing thread? I will remember to include it on the other sock, if it seems like I can go back and fix up the first one in this way.

Future spinning goal: Less twist for more loft!! Meanwhile, I’m inordinately excited about knitting with handspun yarn of my very own and I plan to wear these socks all winter long, to work, with clogs.

7 Comments
  1. October 2, 2003 11:09 am

    Congrats on your first fiber-to-finished project!

  2. Debi permalink
    October 2, 2003 2:16 pm

    Wonderful!! Brilliant!! Lovely!! I’m feeling rather ebullient today, can’t you tell? 🙂
    I am envious of your sheep to feet journey!
    How’s your Byzantine coming?

  3. Linette permalink
    October 2, 2003 2:41 pm

    Awesome socks. Congratulations!

  4. angela permalink
    October 2, 2003 5:00 pm

    Excellent socks Caroline!

  5. October 3, 2003 5:47 am

    Ah, Byzantine. Just bound off for the armholes on the front, when I have the shoulders joined I’ll post another picture. On the way into work this morning I accidentally yanked the needle halfway out so I hope it’s not a jinxed Byzantine day.

  6. October 3, 2003 7:13 am

    Ahhh! Conference call knitting! What bliss! and what a cool sock! Sock on!

  7. October 4, 2003 10:17 pm

    Great socks, Caroline! I am envious of your fast aquisition of spinning skills — such nice, consistent yarn.

Comments are closed.

