Skip to content

WIPs Old and New

October 9, 2003
by

I’ve added another panel to the sampler stole. This one is the same as the center panel of the Unst stole.

I also have a new WIP, the Gerbera sweater from Dale 126. The yarn is Sisik, a very nice tweedy mohair blend. I was pleasantly surprised by how soft it is. It’s an easy but fun knit, it’s done in the round, and it’s a sweater which I can’t wait to wear this winter! What more could I ask for in a WIP?

I haven’t forgotten about Scarlett, though. Working on the first sleeve, slooowly. I MUST try to finish this soon. It’s getting to be ridiculous how long it’s taking me.

But look, another distraction arrived today! It’s Rowan’s Yorkshire tweed 4-ply from Cold Comfort Yarn. How can I possibly keep my hands off this stuff:

Linette

5 Comments
  1. October 9, 2003 4:47 pm

    Ooooh, *ALL* of those projects look wonderful! Maybe I should go get my Lo-Tech Sweat and get some knitting done on it tonight…

  2. October 10, 2003 5:46 am

    OK so far we are 2 for 2 on Carolines.
    Everything looks great! How long is the stole now? I’m slogging along with LOTSS at about 2 rows an evening and it’s still pretty short…
    I notice in that pattern, she has a one-stitch difference between her row length on charts A and B so she just increases or decreases one stitch on the plain rows in between the charts – when I saw that, a light bulb went on as to how one might manage to do one’s own sampler. Are you doing such a thing?
    Did you get one of each Yorkshire color? What are you going to do with it??

  3. Linette permalink
    October 10, 2003 8:53 am

    Hi Carolines!
    The stole is about 24″ long now. It’s growing very slowly now that it’s no longer at the top of my WIP list. Yes, I sometimes fudge by decreasing/increasing a stitch or two when I start a new lace pattern.
    The yarn is a kit for the Moor vest in the Yorkshire Fable book, but I haven’t decided whether I’m going to knit it as written. I might get a few more colors and do my own version. The yarn is fabulous! Possibly even nicer than the old DLT (much softer).

  4. October 13, 2003 12:03 pm

    It’s like seeing the children at another reunion, ya just want to say “my, how big you’ve grown!” to those beautiful projects!

  5. October 13, 2003 6:04 pm

    hi linette. i LOVE that gerbera sweater! thanks for sharing – can’t wait to see more of it!!

Comments are closed.

