Skip to content

Moor

October 29, 2003
by

Another new WIP (I can stop anytime I want to, honest!) This is Moor, the fair isle vest from the Rowan Yorkshire Fable book. A very simple fair isle, it’s not terribly exciting to knit, but is fun and easy and I like that wavy bargello-like thingy in the design. The yarn, Rowan’s Yorkshire tweed 4-ply is just lovely. The colors are turning out to be quite different from the photos in the book. The color used in the ribbing, for example, appears purplish blue in the book, but is really a teal green.

Linette

5 Comments
  1. Ruth in Houston permalink
    October 29, 2003 12:48 pm

    Linette, The vest looks great. I see teal in your sweater. Is it done in the round? I don’t see how anyone can knit FI flat. Kudos to those who do!

  2. Linette permalink
    October 29, 2003 12:52 pm

    Thanks, Ruth. My photo is pretty true to life. The pattern is written for flat knitting(!) but I’m doing it in the round, incorporating the shaping at the sides.

  3. October 30, 2003 6:03 am

    Pretty! I know I’ll end up with some of this yarn. I’m smitten with the Sarah Dallas designs in the book.
    Why does anyone still design fair isle to be knitted flat??

  4. vanessa permalink
    October 31, 2003 2:13 pm

    just lovely!

  5. Sheila permalink
    November 3, 2003 12:35 pm

    I like how vivid the colors are, even though they are heathered. Also, the slight homespun look is great. Is it scratchy at all or is it soft? You are a wonderful knitter, Linette!

Comments are closed.

