Skip to content

Glove, No Glove

November 3, 2003
by

I was unable to resist the glove-along on a list where I hang out, because I have a Sanquhar glove pattern I’ve always wanted to try. It maddeningly doesn’t give gauge information or measurements – recommends sock yarn, and needles sizes 00-2 depending upon the finished size you want (choose from ladies small, ladies average/large, ladies large). I leaped in with the yarn and needles I had (Patons Kroy, size 1). I now have ONE GLOVE which may be forever unwed. The glove hasn’t been blocked yet, this is just how it came off the needles.

This is an attempt to photograph where the thumb joins the hand. The pattern didn’t give any guidance on how to work the stitches picked up below the cast-on section so I just made it spotted until I got to the next dark rows.

This is a TERRIBLE attempt at photographing one of the little finger ‘fourchette’ gussets.

And, this is the problem, which is why I’m pretty sure I don’t have enough cream-colored yarn and why I’ll probably never make the second glove.

It doesn’t fit as badly as this picture implies, but it’s a little BIG. Too bad, it’s so pretty. Well, if anyone can find a ball of the old Patons Kroy in cream maybe I’ll make the second one someday…

10 Comments
  1. vanessa permalink
    November 3, 2003 7:11 pm

    caroline, you are being too hard on yourself! your knitting is beautiful!

  2. janet permalink
    November 3, 2003 7:13 pm

    It’s priceless!
    Vanessa is right, Caroline, your knitting is great.
    Janet

  3. November 3, 2003 7:20 pm

    It’s truly glovely knitting, Caroline. I’m so eager to make a pair of my own in black and white now that I’ve seen yours. I haven’t tracked down that book yet, though. Your glove is some gorgeous knitting…I hope you’ll frame it or something if it’s really destined to be a onesie.

  4. November 3, 2003 8:01 pm

    Caroline – It’s glorious! You could felt it a little and use it as a very fancy (and personalized) oven mitt!
    I’m so impressed!
    🙂

  5. November 4, 2003 5:27 am

    Oh I like the felting idea! Too bad it’s washable sock wool! heehee

  6. Linette permalink
    November 4, 2003 9:44 am

    Beautiful glove!

  7. November 4, 2003 10:29 am

    I love it Caroline! Why not hang it on the wall to display it for all to admire?

  8. Angela permalink
    November 4, 2003 10:56 am

    Caroline, I think I have some Kroy in cream.
    Let me chck at home tonight and then I will get back to you, OK?

  9. Prudence permalink
    November 4, 2003 11:47 am

    I’m beginning to think, listening to all of Lisa’s glove witticisms, that I should have titled this entry ‘Falling In and Out of Glove With You’….

  10. November 5, 2003 5:33 am

    Ha! Falling in and out of glove! Good one. Oh! how about that old RnB classic, (I found)Glove on a One-Way Street?

Comments are closed.

