Skip to content

I finished Emily’s hat out

November 11, 2003
by

I finished Emily’s hat out of handspun. She was so taken with it that she put it on and wore it around the house.

Your eyes don’t deceive you, it’s two slightly different colors. The bottom part is spindled merino – I only had about 30 yards and I put it down where it will come in contact with her face. The rest is wheel-spun bluefaced leicester. Both have been a lot of fun to knit with. The pattern is based on the orange watch cap in the fall issue of Spin-Off.

I used size 9 needles but I think the bluefaced leicester yarn wanted to be knitted a little tighter. I’m going to try to use the rest of it for a hat for me (I think I have about 150 yards left) and use smaller needles. This yarn was nicer to knit with than the merino I used to make my mutant sock (see archives), although it was less consistent – it had more loft. The whole hat is very soft. I’m hoping Emily will consent to wear it as the winter sets in. She is already quite possessive of it, and demanded it back when I tried it on myself!

7 Comments
  1. Linette permalink
    November 11, 2003 11:22 am

    Wow. Miss Emily looks absolutely gorgeous in her new hat.

  2. Thanh permalink
    November 11, 2003 5:49 pm

    She sure looks precious. Can’t wait to meet you both at MS&W next year.

  3. November 11, 2003 8:15 pm

    Caroline – You are awesome – for not only spinning the yarn, but making something useful out of it. I have yet to complete the process!
    Emily just keeps getting prettier and prettier. And now she has an extra special hat to keep her head warm!
    🙂

  4. KarenC permalink
    November 14, 2003 1:12 pm

    Too cute! I will have to meet Emily in person, one day.
    It feels great to have a success, doesn’t it? (That is, to knit something one’s kid will actually wear.)

  5. November 14, 2003 8:08 pm

    Ooh couldn’t you just ‘eat’ those fat little cheeks. She’s SO darn cute!
    Oh, the hat’s very nice too. ;oP

  6. November 15, 2003 6:19 pm

    Oh yes I nibble her cheeks regularly ;->.

  7. roi permalink
    November 17, 2003 5:25 pm

    Absolutely adorable! There’s a special feeling of accomplishment knitting something out of one’s own handspun. What an adorable child and perfect model for mom’s knitting.

Comments are closed.

