Skip to content

Finally finally, I have finished

November 14, 2003
by

Finally finally, I have finished my ‘Faroese Style Lace’ shawl, by Myrna Stahman from the Best of Knitters Shawls and Scarves! Here it is blocking on the basement floor.

This shape was difficult to block! It took almost an hour to thread the thin wires around the outside and then pin out all the points, and figure out the best way to shape up the top edge.

The yarn is Nandia silk/cashmere that I bought on eBay. This came out ever so slightly smaller than the pattern called for, because the yarn neither blooms nor stretches as much as merino. That’s probably why it used only a little over 800 yards or 4 ounces. It’s almost weightless, but I can also feel a small amount of extra warmth when I’m wearing it.

The pattern was very easy, and suits this yarn which seems so much happier in stockinette.

For those who like numbers, I started this on 8/13 and finished it on 11/13.

10 Comments
  1. November 14, 2003 12:04 pm

    WowWowWowWow!! What a gorgeous lot of work that is, and it is going to be beautiful with your coloring. Beautiful, just beautiful!

  2. Linette permalink
    November 14, 2003 12:49 pm

    Absolutely beautiful! And very inspiring.

  3. November 14, 2003 8:05 pm

    Hooly Dooly!! That is one work of art! Absolutely stunning!

  4. Thanh permalink
    November 15, 2003 10:22 am

    What a treasure! Cashmere, no less. I can’t stop looking at it. Thank you for sharing, Caroline.

  5. Debbie/St. Louis permalink
    November 15, 2003 12:52 pm

    Oh, that’s so pretty! I’d love to see a picture of it on you – it looks like it just floats. And the hat is very nice, too, but neither of them hold a candle to Emily. What an adorable child!

  6. November 15, 2003 5:39 pm

    Absolutely gorgeous.
    So…you sleep when exactly ? :0)

  7. November 17, 2003 8:31 am

    THIS is the reason why I read as many knitting blogs as I can as often as I can, in hopes that I will come across something as beautiful as your shawl. Amazing!

  8. Roi permalink
    November 17, 2003 5:29 pm

    I don’t know how you do it all – must be a speed knitter. You complete more beautiful projects than I start, and I’m retired with no kids at home! Thanks for showing the shawl blocked, as I’ve been wondering how to block the one I’ve got on the needles now that has a similar border.

  9. November 18, 2003 7:59 am

    Truly spectacular, Caroline — you have just racked up my “anxious to start a lace shawl” meter by several notches! So — what blocking wires did you use and where did you purchase them? Are the wires continuous on the long sides or did you have to use several on a single line?

  10. November 19, 2003 6:50 am

    I used the blocking wires from Zonta, the thinnest ones for this. It took 3 of the long wires to go around the outside perimeter. There is an order form floating around for the Zonta wires, I know you could find it in the forums at Knitters Review or ask on Fibertraditions someone surely has it.

Comments are closed.

