Skip to content

Byzantine is Finished

November 24, 2003
by

Continuing in my push to clear out the WIPs, I sewed Byzantine Bazic together yesterday and washed it and set it up on the wooly board to dry.

This has been my lunch hour knitting for quite awhile now, so that I could get it done more quickly. The Faroese lace was my main home WIP during the same time period.

When the sweater first came off the needles, I was afraid it was going to be a little too narrow, but wetting down a cabled piece relaxes it out quite nicely and I think it will be the perfect cozy fit.

The pattern is by Kathy Zimmerman from the fall 03 issue of Interweave Knits, and was designed for an incredibly huge yarn called ‘Bazic’, and size 9 needles. I don’t do huge yarn, so I used my Berroco Bluefaced Leicester in a shade of purple called ‘dahlia’, and size 8 needles. I ended up using every bit of 12 50g balls, and it weighs quite enough, thank you – I can’t imagine it made in something that would have taken 20 or 25 50g balls.

I changed the neckline because I didn’t want a turtleneck – instead of ribbing for 2 inches, reversing the knitting, then knitting the cabled section to turn out, I just knitted 2 inches of the cabling as a neckband.

This was the most gorgeous cable I’ve seen in a long time. Here’s a detail of the main panel.

I certainly hope I get some cold weather this winter to wear it. My cubicle is hotter this year than it was last year but I’m trying to be optimistic…

My feeling about this yarn is that it could be knitted quite a bit tighter and still look very nice, so I’m thinking of trying out my leftovers with the Elsebeth Lavold vest in the fall 03 Knitters. It’s a very lofty squishable yarn.

Statistics: Started 7/31, finished 11/23.

I’m finishing off two very small items this week, and then I can’t put off returning to my Poetry in Stitches sweater any more. It’s become a little boring, with the endless knitting in 2 colors, but I know that when it’s done I will love it, so I’ll try to persevere.

7 Comments
  1. vanessa permalink
    November 24, 2003 10:28 am

    caroline, it’s just lovely and the color is wonderful!

  2. Linette permalink
    November 24, 2003 10:51 am

    Absolutely beautiful!
    I wish I could reach inside my monitor and touch that blue-faced leicester. How does it feel compared to the debbie bliss cashmerino? Could you wear it over, say, just a t-shirt?

  3. November 24, 2003 1:21 pm

    It’s not as smooth as the cashmerino but it feels very soft. I think it’s ever so slightly hairy, though, which might make a difference. I plan to wear it over a silk blouse.

  4. Angela permalink
    November 25, 2003 2:51 pm

    Caroline – beautiful work as always. Are you going to knit the bed & breakfast aran from the newest IK?
    Inspired as always…

  5. November 25, 2003 6:18 pm

    Yes that pattern did catch my eye….again, it needs to be done in less bulky yarn, however.

  6. Debi permalink
    November 29, 2003 2:53 am

    Caroline, your Byzantine looks amazing! You’ve inspired me to start mine….soon, LOL.
    Actually I’m thinking of doing the Bed and Breakfast Pullover in Debbie Bliss Cashmerino, I think it will be just perfect.
    Don’t you just love Kathy Zimmerman’s designs?

  7. Sheila permalink
    November 29, 2003 8:14 am

    No wonder your last name starts with FO! You’re amazing, and the sweater is beautiful.

Comments are closed.

