Skip to content

Swatch-a-rama

November 28, 2003
by

I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving. DH and I had a lovely potluck evening with friends. All I had to do for Thanksgiving dinner this year was make a salad, so I had plenty of time to try out some fair isle ideas. This was the palette, in Rowan Yorkshire Tweed 4-ply:

Swatch A. This is my favorite, inspired by a design I glimpsed in an old, old, old Rowan mag. I’m going to go ahead and knit this as a crew-neck pullover.

Swatch B. Traditional, a bit boring, definitely needs some work.

Swatch C. I see this maybe as a cardigan. The chart for this came straight out of Sheila McGregor’s Fair Isle book – I just added the colors.

Linette

6 Comments
  1. Sheila permalink
    November 29, 2003 8:13 am

    Gasp! You have the gift, my dear. The second one only needs a little more pop on the second motif’s center to stand out, but I LOVE the color combo. I like the green and rose diamonds together on the third one a lot… I could go on and on. Very nice 🙂

  2. December 1, 2003 5:51 am

    Wow, very nice. That top one will look good on you with your black hair. You are so good with color!!! Maybe you should publish a book of charts for color knitting…..

  3. Angela permalink
    December 1, 2003 11:26 am

    Linette, when are us mortals supposed to catch up with you?
    Pattern request the second, or is it the third? #1 is gorgeous and definitely my colours – wheedle, wheedle, wheedle.

  4. Linette permalink
    December 1, 2003 1:27 pm

    Thank you for compliments, ladies. The yarn does all the work. With these tweeds you almost can’t come up with a bad color combo. Angela, say the word and I’d be more than happy to send along a chart and color key 🙂

  5. vanessa permalink
    December 2, 2003 3:43 am

    they are all so different, i like them all! i agree with sheila, b just needs a liitle jolt in the center of the top pattern. can’t wait to see em knit in a sweater.

  6. December 4, 2003 3:45 pm

    I *really, really* want to do a sweater with the colors (and pattern) in swatch #1!! Please send pattern – and yarn colors – oh, and someone to knit it would be great, too, because I’m just *swamped* with holiday stuff right now…

Comments are closed.

