Skip to content

Poetry comes along

December 5, 2003
by

We had 4 inches of snow overnight last night, so instead of working today I concentrated on finishing up the body of my Poetry in Stitches sweater. This photo conceals a multitude of puckers.

The shoulders aren’t bound off together yet because I need to machine stitch the steeks first.

This pattern has the most interesting shoulder finishing I’ve ever done. This is a closeup of the top of the front at one shoulder.

To produce this shoulder effect, one knits 4 rows of stockinette, and on row 2 (a purl row) one uses a size 7 needle, returning to the size 4 needle on row 3. Row 5 is a standard picot row K2tog YO across. Rows 6 and 7 are more stockinette. Then, for row 8, you run a size 1 needle carefully into all the top loops of that slightly baggy row done on the size 7 needle, and purl one stitch from each needle together to pop up the spiky picot edge. Then, you graft or bind off that shoulder to the back which is plain.

I can’t wait to see what this looks like when bound off and worn. I am afraid I will feel like a stegosaurus.

I just couldn’t face starting a sleeve tonight so I worked a little on my Legends of the Shetland Seas which is moving faster as I know the pattern better. I hope to have the center panel done in the near future.

4 Comments
  1. December 6, 2003 5:10 am

    What a fascinating way to create a picot edge! Thank you for the up-close photo and explanation, I am also looking forward to seeing how this looks when worn.
    Four inches of snow!!! How lovely! I am so homesick for the northeast…today it is supposed to be in the 70s (again).

  2. December 6, 2003 7:43 am

    Caroline, it looks fabulous. The colors are so wonderfully vivid, and I’ve always liked blue on blue. Can’t wait to see it finished!

  3. vanessa permalink
    December 6, 2003 8:52 am

    can’t wait to see how it turns out!

  4. Linette permalink
    December 6, 2003 1:40 pm

    Gorgeous! That’s going to look fabulous on you.

Comments are closed.

