Skip to content

I’ve made great progress on

December 15, 2003
by

I’ve made great progress on my Ljod sweater (from the new Elsebeth Lavold book), mostly because I can knit away on it while at the same time coaching Emily on her computer toys or watching her take a bath – very simple knitting! Also, I’m stalled on my Poetry sweater sleeves right now and this project is one of the beneficiaries.

This is the back – it isn’t quite as narrow as it looks, the sides are curling in a little. I can already tell this will be a favorite sweater to wear. The Silky Wool yarn makes a lovely almost velvety fabric and is very soft.

The shaping is very elegant – you decrease to the waist at both edges as well as each side of the vertical purl lines, then increase out again in the same manner, but THEN you do some more increases only BETWEEN the vertical purl lines. To me this will make the waist look thinner, it very slightly broadens the center panel across the shoulders and enhances the narrowness at the waist. We’ll see!

Also there is a very small amount of short-rowing at the shoulders to very slightly slant the line of the shoulder seam downward away from the neck. Her instructions for executing a short-row-wrap are clear and the pictures really help – this is a maneuver I’ve always had trouble with.
There are various errors and unclarities in this book, I keep hearing, and I’ve printed and saved off her errata from her site as well as a posting from an online list about another pattern in the book. This one so far is very clear – I did find one error, on page 18 top of the second column – it should not say ‘chart row 0’ because at this point you are on a right side row and are working chart row 1. An email to Elsebeth confirmed this is a mistake in the pattern.

Gauge seems to be a big issue with this yarn – the recommended gauge is 22×30 = 4 inches on size 6 needles. When I swatched with size 5 I got gauge exactly, till I washed the swatch at which point I was getting more like 20 1/2 or 21 stitches to 4 inches (the row gauge did not change with washing). So, I’m knitting this pattern on sizes 2 and 4 needles, which means the pieces are going to be a little too small until they are washed and blocked. This is a little nerve-wracking!
But, on the whole, I am really loving making this pattern and can’t wait to wear the finished product. No doubt this will be done before the Poetry sweater.

3 Comments
  1. Sam permalink
    December 15, 2003 12:37 pm

    Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful! I can’t wait to see a picture of you in this one, Caroline. That color with your hair will be stunning. Nicely done so far!

  2. KarenC permalink
    December 21, 2003 12:43 pm

    Elsebeth Lavold has such elegant designs. As you’ve described it, she really understands how to enhance the female figure. I’ve been wanting to make Siv — now you inspire to make Ljod, too. What’s a girl to do???

  3. December 23, 2003 5:42 am

    I love, love, love the shaping of this sweater! It is going to be gorgeous on…I can’t wait to see it completed. Gotta have that book.

Comments are closed.

