Skip to content

Here finally is my little

December 29, 2003
by

Here finally is my little hank of handspun superwash merino.

This was made from 4 ounces of top that Denise S. sent to me just because she wanted it to have a home. It put me through a lot of trouble! I spun up two huge bobbins of nice thin singles, then went to ply and the singles kept breaking.

After tossing a couple of handfuls into the trash, I appealed to Fibertraditions for help. The consensus was that I needed to put more twist into the single before trying to ply it. So, Friday morning Emily and I had a nice outing to visit Mama Liz and Morgen, and add twist on Liz’s Jensen wheel. Emily played with Morgen and tried to befriend Liz’s many cats, Liz knitted, and I spun. That was when I found out how much yardage I’d really spun! it took almost an hour to move one bobbinfull of yarn from my lazy kate to the Jensen.

So, I brought home one Jensen bobbin and my own other bobbin and added twist to the second bobbin on my Kromski. I then started plying, and it went well until the drive band frayed apart and broke. Eek. The partly plyed yarn had to sit overnight till I got some advice on how to make a new band, from Fibertraditions again as well as from New Voyager, the very helpful distributor of Kromskis in the US. Finally though, it’s finished, and it’s about 450 yards of light sockweight yarn. I’m already started on a large swatch (a sock). Whew!

To add a little more color to the page, here’s a rather pinkish photo of the Jamiesons felted shoulder bag I made last month. The pattern is in the Jamiesons #3 book and I used the called-for Chunky Shetland. It’s a lovely flexible velvety fabric, a very nice little bag.

Happy New Year everyone.

PS Don’t forget you can get pretty Pink Tea goodies at the PinkTeaSoiree Cafepress store… (No markups or profits, just at-cost prices.)
PPS Here’s a quiz I found when I visited Mama Liz this morning.

you are deepskyblue
#00BFFF

Your dominant hues are cyan and blue. You like people and enjoy making friends. You’re conservative and like to make sure things make sense before you step into them, especially in relationships. You are curious but respected for your opinions by people who you sometimes wouldn’t even suspect.
Your saturation level is very high – you are all about getting things done. The world may think you work too hard but you have a lot to show for it, and it keeps you going. You shouldn’t be afraid to lead people, because if you’re doing it, it’ll be done right.

Your outlook on life is very bright. You are sunny and optimistic about life and others find it very encouraging, but remember to tone it down if you sense irritation.

the spacefem.com html color quiz

Prudence

2 Comments
  1. December 29, 2003 6:53 pm

    I really love your pink bag. Actually, pink is one of my very favorite colors. I would like to have the pattern for that one, and will do a search for this Jamieson’s. I’ve never heard of that designer…or book/pattern. You’re work is very exquisite, (I’ve viewed previous postings as well) and I can only hope (and practice) that my work will be as lovely as yours someday.
    The cafe press site is a fun way to express and advertise your blog. I am contemplating a design of my own, and when I come up with something good,I would like to have a cafe store also.
    I have enjoyed your blog, and will be back again and again. Happy Holidays…and happy knitting!

  2. Prudence permalink
    December 30, 2003 7:33 am

    Actually it is not as pink as the photo. The name of the yarn color was ‘garnet’. Unfortunately I had two different dye lots going, so the bottom of the bag is a purply garnet and the top is a more rusty garnet. Such is life.

Comments are closed.

