Skip to content

Here is a 110-yard hank

January 14, 2004
by

Here is a 110-yard hank of a camel/silk blend spun from fiber that Denise sent me at the same time that she sent me the superwash merino I spun last month. This is about 16 wraps per inch and I’m going to try to make some kind of little lacey neckwarmer out of it. (The color is a little lighter and rustier than the photo shows.)

I decided my next spinning would be the wool/mohair roving (11 oz) that I bought from the Barefoot Spinner at Maryland Sheep and Wool last spring.

I’d like this to end up sport weight, for a vest or something of similar size. So far, it seems to almost spin itself – so easy after the merino and the funny fuzzy camel.

Meanwhile, my attempts to finish my Poetry in Stitches project continue – today I sneaked out of work a little early, intending to dash home and machine stitch my neck and armhole steeks in preparation for sleeve attachment next week. However, no such mundane fate was mine, for waiting on my doorstep was this:

At first, I didn’t know what it was, but when I looked at the return address I recalled seeing the name on Wendy’s blog and I realized it was the Great Stash Redistribution Project mid-Atlantic Box! This is a great idea spearheaded by Amy the Cyborgoddess, but I wasn’t sure I’d made it into round one. The idea was so well received that there are many regional boxes going around.

Of course I abandoned all thoughts of steeks and opened it right away.

It was stuffed with interesting yarn and a well-organized folder with sheets for recording what you took out and put in, and an address list indicating where to send it next.

I tried to be good, and this is what I took out:

Two hanks of Rowan Summer Tweed (silk and cotton) in an interesting vivid salmon that is really far afield from what I usually like. But, it’s 200 yards altogether and I’m a silk junkie so it’ll be fun to play with.

And this is what I put in. It was like the standard humor piece about packing the suitcase by sitting on it – I almost had to graduate the whole thing to a bigger box.

Seven skeins of ‘vintage’ Red Heart cotton that I just don’t think I’ll ever get to use, two skeins of a green wool that is left from my ‘Tara’ (Celtic Collection), 1 1/2 balls of Brunswick Baby left from my Victorian T Shirt made for Emily 2 years ago, and one skein of Brown Sheep Cotton Fleece leftover from Emily’s Classic Aran.

Oh, and also a hank of Reynolds Tipperary Tweed that was camera-shy.

Elka, was I good? Are there LINT brownie points??

This was great fun and I look forward to getting to do it again some day.

3 Comments
  1. Denise permalink
    January 15, 2004 6:00 pm

    Caroline,
    Your spinning is wonderful, of course! Maybe I can continue to send you my poor neglected fibers so that I can vicariously bask in the reflected glow of your incredible productivity?
    Thanks for sharing the Great Stash Distribution box too. I’m signed up to but I won’t see mine for awhile yet (I’m in the Aran group). I have all my yarn sorted and set aside for the big day! Maybe we should have a spinning fiber redistribution project?
    Denise

  2. January 16, 2004 5:27 am

    Heehee, I don’t have enough spinning fiber stashed yet to have anything I want to part with!!!

  3. January 16, 2004 4:54 pm

    Hi!
    Your spinning is great. I love that blue stuff you’re spinning! I just started spinning in October and I really love it. That Rowan is lovely! I love the color.
    BTW I found your site by googling “Dale 126”- how is “Gerbera” coming along?
    ~Sarah

Comments are closed.

