Skip to content

Which Buttons

January 19, 2004
by

I need aesthetic advice. My Ljod sits finished except for the buttons and I can’t decide which buttons to put on. Here are my choices:

The blue ones are very plain but an uncanny color match and would be very unobtrusive. The silver ones are more interesting and I think fit with the flavor of the design but might be too much contrast.

Please vote in the comments! I’ll check back in about 2 hours because I have to sew the buttons on while Emily takes a nap. Thanks for your help!

17 Comments
  1. January 19, 2004 7:57 am

    I vote for the blue ones.

  2. January 19, 2004 8:00 am

    Caroline, I would choose the silver if I were picking them out myself. It is the finishing touch that I relish; going through the button stash. If you want to be conservative and have the buttons disappear, go with the blue. If you want to be more arty, go with the silver.
    Lisa S

  3. January 19, 2004 8:10 am

    I would need to see the sweater. Are the buttons supposed to be a statement? how plain is the sweater? I would probably go with the silver buttons in order to add vertical interest – but you are skinny enough that you don’t need to.
    The blue are uncanny, and would look good, but they are more the sort that a sweater company would put on it – cheaper, etc.

  4. January 19, 2004 8:13 am

    I like the silver buttons, the blue ones may be the same colour but they are boring to me. The contrast of the silver makes the blue of the sweater even more exciting.

  5. janet permalink
    January 19, 2004 8:37 am

    If you are using only 4 buttons, I like the size of the blue ones as well as the color. The silver are interesting and silver is a great look with blue but they look like a “six button choice” from the apparent size.
    Janet

  6. January 19, 2004 8:45 am

    I like the silver ones, but then I like a little flash on a sweater or vest. If you want something more casual and basic, the blue ones would be my vote.
    I’m not helping much, am I 😀

  7. Mundi permalink
    January 19, 2004 9:09 am

    I vote for the blue ….. Like the color and the larger size seems appropriate.

  8. January 19, 2004 9:20 am

    Silver! Silver!

  9. Heather permalink
    January 19, 2004 9:30 am

    I vote for the blue.

  10. Sam permalink
    January 19, 2004 9:50 am

    Hmmmm…I gotta say, I really like the silver. I think the style of the sweater would really be enhanced by them.

  11. DeNae permalink
    January 19, 2004 9:51 am

    I vote for the blue. The pattern seems to call for non-contrasting buttons. On pure looks, I like the silver ones better though!

  12. Debbie/St. Louis permalink
    January 19, 2004 12:27 pm

    Silver! They look like pretty jewelry.

  13. Melanie permalink
    January 19, 2004 12:31 pm

    Blue gets my vote. It’s hard to tell without seeing the entire sweater, but on first impression I liked the uncanny match of the blue colours.

  14. KarenC permalink
    January 19, 2004 12:37 pm

    Hope the polls haven’t closed yet. I definitely vote for the silver. Silver will give the sweater a more polished and sophisticated look.

  15. January 19, 2004 2:40 pm

    Silver!

  16. Denise permalink
    January 20, 2004 5:54 am

    I’m drawn more to the silver and they do have that nordic flavor, but I can’t remember what the front of the sweater looks like and these choices are based so much on context. Either would be nice but I’m going to say silver.

  17. January 20, 2004 8:52 am

    Thanks for all the opinions! I went with silver, but may have to backtrack if they tend to slip out of the buttonholes – don’t want unexpected unbuttonings to happen! We’ll see what happens when I try it on tonight post-reblocking to make it shorter and wider (I think the pieces stretched out long and narrow when wet during the first blocking).

Comments are closed.

