Skip to content

Finally, my Poetry In Stitches

January 23, 2004
by

Finally, my Poetry In Stitches p124 sweater is done! This got started on September 10th and got laid aside a few times when another project called for a finishing frenzy. But it’s done just in time to wear on one of our coldest days here yet.

Here it is on the wooly board. Can you see the big fat mistake in the right sleeve (that is, the sleeve on the left of the photo)??

This sweater has lots of interesting details. Here is the bottom border:

Here is the same border pattern repeated on the cuff:

In case you haven’t seen enough picot edges, here is the neckband:


And, here is the stegosaurus sleeve/shoulder finishing – Hisdal must have gotten up with picot on the brain the day she designed this!

In case you’re wondering, yes, it’s rather large on. But not as much so as I thought it was going to be, it’s a nice tunic length and the fabric actually has quite a lovely drape.

The thing about it that I should have prevented is that the sleeves are so long – down over my knuckles. This seems to be a fashionable look in Norway or something – Wendy had to shorten the sleeves of her Dale cardigan she did a year or two ago – can’t remember the name of it offhand but it was cream and blue and brown. And I can’t turn back the cuffs since that would ruin the effect of the flower border and picot edge. So I’ll just spend the day pushing up my sleeves. But, NOTE: 19 inches is too long for a sleeve on a drop-shoulder sweater!

I bought my kit at Sommerfuglen in Denmark – for myself for Christmas 2002. Back then the dollar was stronger and I was paying in Danish marks, but I’m sure they still offer good prices and service on these kits. The yarn amounts were extremely generous in the contrast colors – there was enough of the 6 contrast colors to do 3 of this sweater, and one hank of the dark blue left over as well. I’ve arranged a lovely swap with Louise for the leftovers.

I am very glad this is finished! I think after a suitable pause to savor only having one real WIP (Legends of the Shetland Seas), I will start my Rosarie vest. I am not sure I can knit on LoTSS at night so I may knit madly on socks from my handspun merino from late December, which have a deadline in 3 weeks – I’m on the heel flap of sock #1 and it’s knitting up really nicely. Oh, that and frog Ljod…..

12 Comments
  1. Debbie/St. Louis permalink
    January 23, 2004 7:09 am

    This is beautiful. After careful study – I can’t resist a challenge – I absolutely cannot see the mistake. What a great sweater!

  2. January 23, 2004 7:22 am

    The sweater is stunning! And your ‘mistake’ is a great design feature. Why be like everyone else?

  3. vanessa permalink
    January 23, 2004 7:50 am

    lovely!

  4. January 23, 2004 8:02 am

    Hi Caroline,
    It’s beautiful! I love that sweater.
    Brenda

  5. January 23, 2004 5:16 pm

    I love that sweater! You did a fab job. Can’t wait ’til I can knit like that..
    Are you still working on the Dale #126 Gerbera, or did you finish that?

  6. January 23, 2004 9:39 pm

    It is absolutely beautiful!!!

  7. judy permalink
    January 24, 2004 12:47 am

    Beautiful and so inspiring! The knitting looks absolutely perfect in the close up pictures!

  8. January 24, 2004 5:47 am

    It’s absolutely gorgeous. And I like the design element on the right sleeve. Louise is right; why be like everybody else? Love the picots, by the way. Are they the knit a few rounds, then a yarn over round, then folding-type?
    What beautiful work??congratulations on the finishing.

  9. Angela permalink
    January 24, 2004 4:21 pm

    Great work on the POS sweater. It must look stunning on you. As always, wonderful finishing inspiration.
    So sad about Ljod. I think some Bad Sweater Karma has been going around since I have to rip out Rosedale as it is going to be tooo long and tunic cardigans just don’t work on me.

  10. Prudence permalink
    January 26, 2004 1:09 pm

    Sarah Elizabeth, it wasn’t me working on Gerbera, it was Linette…

  11. January 27, 2004 9:42 am

    this is LOVELY! Any hints for those of us embarking on this kind of colorwork for the first time?

  12. January 27, 2004 2:24 pm

    Greta – I’d say always remember it’s just one stitch at a time – use wood or bamboo needles to keep the stitches spread out while stranding – and knit a bit more loosely than you think necessary. Other than that – join a knitting email list so you can ask all your questions as you get to them. The ones I know about are the yahoo groups Fibertraditions and Asoflives, and knittingbeyondthehebrides.org .

Comments are closed.

