Skip to content

I’m down to 2 WIPs,

February 7, 2004
by

I’m down to 2 WIPs, although as you’ll see that’s going to last about another half a day… anyway here they are.

Big WIP: Legends of the Shetland Seas, here it is with about 3/4ths of the first repeat done on the second border. It’s coming out huge even without the edging and the amount of stretching I know will happen when it’s blocked. I guess I’m just knitting too loosely – but I hope it won’t matter in the end and that it’ll still be beautiful. The yarn is Skacel Merino Lace which seems to be very elastic.

Here’s a detail where you can see the end of the center panel, and the mesh, fan lace, and ring lace of the border pattern.

This is really a work of art, and it makes me feel that I don’t need to fear to tackle most lace that would interest me in the future.

The pattern, in case this makes you covetous, can be found here.

Meanwhile, I’ve started a little scarf out of my handspun camel/silk that I finished last month. The lace pattern is ‘field of flowers’. You can see the nifty buttonhole that LisaN suggested – it’s theoretically about 1/3 of the way from one end, and it allows the other tail to be pulled through and snugged up so the scarf will stay in place and not allow drafts down the back of one’s neck. Cool idea!

Meanwhile, I’m getting picked up by Lisa’s Glove Train! Here’s some Koigu I ordered from the guys at ThreadBear, to make the same herringbone gloves Lisa’s been doing:

OK I fell off my LINT diet – but I will immediately knit and then immediately wear these, and it’s the first fiber I’ve bought in a month, so I don’t feel too guilty… I practically fell over when I opened the pretty pink tissue paper and experienced Koigu for the first time – it’s stunning stuff. I can see myself easily following Lisa into a feast of Koigu gloves using Nancy Bush’s book ‘Folk Knitting in Estonia.” What beautiful ways to have warm hands.

One Comment
  1. Sam permalink
    February 10, 2004 8:27 pm

    Caroline, your shawl is looking simply stunning – gorgeous work! I can’t wait to see yours blocked out and on. Yes, I know – I owe an entry showing the same thing. 😉
    Sam

Comments are closed.

