Skip to content

I finished my little Field

February 9, 2004
by

I finished my little Field of Flowers scarf yesterday.

It ended up being 5 inches wide and 28 inches long, just long enough to snug up around my neck. I blocked it with my pins and wires, to open up those adorable little flowers. It’s a tiny bit itchy, I guess from the camel, but it’s quite warm under a jacket. The buttonhole idea was great, I get the effect of a knot without having to take up length in a knot, or having to have bulk at the throat from a real knot.

This was a camel/silk blend that Denise sent me awhile ago. It was just about one ounce and spun up to about 110 yards of 2-ply. It knitted up more like DK weight although I was hoping for sport – it seems to me that my handspun stuff fattens up in the skein after I wash it!

I used size 5 needles, 25 stitches (19 pattern and 2 3-stitch garter borders), and I was inspired by the Field of Flowers scarf pattern that Sharon Miller created for the HeirloomKnitting yahoogroup. I also tried the Double Start caston that Nancy Bush explains in her book Folk Knitting in Estonia, and the Icelandic bindoff that someone was talking about on Fibertraditions last week. An old dog can learn new tricks!

I started my Koigu gloves yesterday, inspired by Lisa. Photos in a few days. Meanwhile, for your amazed amusement here is a kind of glove I’m not sure has ever been knitted before.

It’s intended for a pool player. A friend hated his all-nylon pool glove and asked if I could knit one, so I said what-the-heck and hauled out some blue Froehlich Blauband sock yarn that was given to me, and started in. This picture shows it in use although it’s hard to see in this photo how the fingertips can touch the felt of the pool table. No pool cue available so use your imagination.

I cast on 60 stitches and knitted a 2×2 ribbed wrist band (should have made it longer), then bound off 30 stitches, knitted up a ways, centered a thumb gusset on the 30 stitches, and made fingers at the top. For the edges that go up the palm and back of the hand, I used the kind of edge stitch you’d use on a sock heel flap (always knit last stitch and slip first stitch) to get an edge that would not flop around or roll.

What’ll they think of next??

6 Comments
  1. February 9, 2004 11:36 am

    What a great idea! Very nicely done.

  2. Rob permalink
    February 9, 2004 1:48 pm

    I am in envy of your lace projects and the billiards glove was brilliant! What’s LINT? And would it mean I would have to stop buying yarn?
    Rob

  3. February 9, 2004 5:57 pm

    I think the billiard glove is BRILLIANT!!! That’s the cleverest thing I’ve seen in ages!

  4. February 9, 2004 7:06 pm

    Lovely lace scarf! I’ve been reading my fav blogs tonight and almost all of them, including myself, have a finished scarf to report- it’s so funny.
    Hilarious glove! Clever!

  5. Prudence permalink
    February 10, 2004 5:45 am

    Yes, LINT is a yarn diet. Sheila made up the term last year, to apply to the period of abstinence prior to Fleecter when you buy a whole bunch of fiber. I’ve been on a yarn diet about a month – but that Koigu just could not be helped.

  6. vanessa permalink
    February 12, 2004 3:22 am

    totally cool pool glove!

Comments are closed.

