Skip to content

I’ve made some progress on

February 12, 2004
by

I’ve made some progress on the herringbone glove although twice I’ve had to pull out the needles and swear my way through ripping out 6 or 8 rows because I had lapse of attention. I do hope these fit me when I’m done as they are just so beautiful in my two colors of Koigu.

This is the back of the hand, which is all the herringbone pattern:

This is the palm, which has a column of ‘spot’ stitch for each finger. I am 4 rows from finishing the thumb gusset, and at the very top of the thumb gusset another column of spots opens up for the index finger.

I followed Lisa’s lead, and used 2 colors of Koigu and size 2 needles (I’ll switch to size 1 for the fingers). She has links in her pages to the blogs of 2 Japanese knitters (Noriko and Mariko) who have finished theirs, using Rowanspun yarn. I also used the double start caston from Nancy Bush’s book ‘Folk Knitting in Estonia’, which Lisa suggested, and which makes a pretty edge. You can’t see it because it’s rolling – maybe there was an instruction in the pattern to purl a row or something and I just missed it. I will lightly block these to even out the stranding and unroll the pretty edge.

I can’t wait to wear these. I do worry that I’m going to run out of the dark color before I’m done, but since it’s not going to be hard to get another hank, I’m not letting it bother me.

I didn’t work on LOTSS at all last night because I had to go through a rip-and-recover session on the glove – the Koigu is slippery and stretchy so it can be a bit of a pain to pick up stitches after ripping back. I also didn’t work on LOTSS because I’ve been distracted by the tam knitalong at ASOFLIVES. I had a bunch of yarn left from knitting my Catriona cardigan, and fished these colors out to see if I could color up a tam for myself, and although it’s coming out with some obvious weaknesses as to color design, I like it enough to continue. Pictures of that in a few days.

This is the first time I’ve knitted with Shetland wool since finishing St Michaels early last summer – I’d forgotten how wonderful it is.

2 Comments
  1. Rob permalink
    February 12, 2004 7:21 am

    Prudence, the gloves are gorgeous and have inspired me to take a look at the pattern. What a great (and affordable) use of Koigu yarn. How are the fingers done? Each one in the round? I-cord style?

  2. February 12, 2004 7:48 am

    Each one in the round. The pattern charts, in combination with some of the in-progress pictures on Mariko’s blog, are clear enough without even having to translate the japanese, although I did print an English version by using babelfish.altavista.com.

Comments are closed.

