Skip to content

This Tam Thing

February 16, 2004
by

I seem to practice a Last-In-First-Out approach to knitting management. Exhibit A, my tam (see Tamalong here):

I think it proves that I have no eye for color. That is, I can pick out a bunch of pretty colors that look nice all in a group, but to guess in advance what they’ll look like knitted up in a fair isle is beyond my brain’s capabilities. I do wish that the sage had popped out more clearly over the lilac, because the top center is a pretty pattern of hearts that I thought would have made a nice tie-in to the OXOs on the underside and added up to my Valentine’s Day tam. But alas.

These colors were all my favorites from my Catriona cardigan. There’s a reason why Alice Starmore is famous and I’m in information technology.

I wore it today, it’s as light as a feather and keeps the tops of my ears warm. But, where can I go for the definitive photo of how to properly wear a tam? I was not sure I was doing it right!

Nice things about knitting tams: You only have to knit each chart once – none of that sinking feeling when you reach the last row. It gets smaller and faster as you go along because the decreases for the top happen so fast. You can get it done in a week.

This didn’t get stretched while blocking over a 10 inch dinner plate, only properly shaped. I could have wished for about a 10 1/2 inch plate.

Still working on my herringbone gloves but no pictures today, the fingers are giving me fits. As far as Legends of the Shetland Seas, I’m up to row 20 of 56 on the last repeat of the border chart, so I hope by the end of the week to begin puzzling over the edging.

4 Comments
  1. Karen the Terrible permalink
    February 16, 2004 6:55 pm

    Dear Prudence: Your “Catriona” tam is beautiful! You are too modest. Fashion tip for today: the more rakishly one wears a tam, the better! Are the herringbone gloves you mention the ones from Piecework?

  2. Anne permalink
    February 16, 2004 9:02 pm

    I think your tam is just lovely. For the perfect model of proper tam wear, see Sheila’s photo!

  3. vanessa permalink
    February 17, 2004 2:39 am

    i love your tammy!

  4. February 18, 2004 4:42 am

    I think the colors are beautiful and they ‘work’. And you too are famous. Your knitting is known and admired around the world:)

Comments are closed.

