Skip to content

Wouldn’t It Be Gloverly

February 21, 2004
by

… if the second glove would appear by magic once the first was completed? Now that I’ve got this, I have to start all over:

It’s really gorgeous and I can’t wait to have a whole pair – but, I am afraid it’s going to make my head explode to figure out how to knit a mirror image. For now, I’m turning the charts upside down and knitting them from the top down. We’ll see how that works out.

Still plugging away on LOTSS, I hope to start the edging maybe tomorrow – I have about 12 rows left on the last repeat of chart C.

Meantimes, I’m spinning my wool/mohair roving that I bought at Maryland Sheep & Wool last year from the Barefoot Spinner. I have 11 ounces and hope to get DK weight so I can eke out the Clock Vest from Folk Vests.

6 Comments
  1. February 21, 2004 8:21 am

    That’s gorgeous! That glove is beautiful!
    I’m running a knit along for ‘folk vests’ if you’d like to join. One member spun and knit her vest as well- her blog is
    http://www.theplumpewe.blogspot.com (she has pictures there)
    The knit along URL is
    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/folkvestknitting/

  2. Anne permalink
    February 21, 2004 8:24 am

    Wow, that glove is a work of art all in itself. The second one will be a challenge, but don’t put off getting it going. The only glove I ever made is languishing alone. I keep forgetting about it!It is nowhere near as beautiful and complicated as yours is, however. Great job!

  3. February 23, 2004 6:58 am

    Gorgeous; how did I miss this being finished? Isn’t this the most elegant pair of gloves ever? I also think the finger construction, where you’re knitting more of a box than a tube, is supremely elegant.

  4. Patricia permalink
    February 24, 2004 11:22 am

    What a beautiful pattern! Where did you find it?

  5. February 25, 2004 5:23 am

    The glove pattern, in Japanese, is here. You can feed this URL into http://www.babelfish.altavista.com and get fractured English. There are two errors in the pattern which I’ll post about soon (probably when I post the finished gloves), and a couple of the charts wouldn’t print for me unless I saved off the graphics to my hard drive and printed them separately. The finger charts are not labeled but I followed Lisa’s lead on which to use for which finger. It’s a very well designed glove.
    http://www.tata-tatao.to/knit/simplegloves/herringbone.html

  6. sam permalink
    February 29, 2004 8:59 am

    Caroline, these are just beautiful. What a lovely job you did. And the fiber is a wonderful color – will look great on you!

Comments are closed.

