Skip to content

How Sweet It Is To Be Gloved…

February 29, 2004
by

The Herringbone Gloves are finished.

I fed the pattern into this translator, and between the fractured English I got, and help from Lisa, I was able to puzzle it out.

These gloves are so elegantly designed that they’re a pleasure to knit. I had three problems to be aware of in the pattern. First, I had trouble getting a couple of the graphics to print (the thumb gusset chart and the finger charts), and I had to save them to my hard drive via right-click in order to print them and paste them into the printed pattern. Then, there are two errors: Pattern stitch B is knitted for 8 rows not 16, and in the bottom left finger chart (the beginning of the little finger), the 4 stitches from 17-20 really belong between the first 8 and the second 8 (got that?).

On Lisa’s advice I did the thumb from the top two finger charts, the little finger from the bottom two finger charts, and the index/middle/ring fingers from the middle two finger charts. She was obviously correct, as I ran into no problems this way.

While Lisa decided not to use grafting to finish the fingers, I decided to, for a change of pace. On the right glove, I grafted with the dark yarn. On the left glove, I tried grafting with both yarns held together. I haven’t decided yet which look I like better, there is not a huge noticeable difference.

I had to get a second hank of the dark blue Koigu from ThreadBear, but I can’t have used more than about 15 yards of it (I ran out halfway up the last finger). I’m playing around with something to do with the remainder. It’s beautiful yarn. The pattern originally calls for Rowanspun, but I can’t imagine a nicer pair of gloves than something made from Koigu.

Lisa has some links on her blog to Japanese knitters who’ve made these beautiful gloves as well.
Vital statistics: size 2 needles for the hand, size 1 for the fingers, just under one hank of light blue Koigu and just over one hank dark blue. I can’t remember when I started but this only took a couple of weeks.

11 Comments
  1. March 1, 2004 9:57 am

    These are beautiful! I love them in the blues, and I’m impressed with how quickly you finished them. I think of all the gloves I’ve started and finished since December, this is the most elegant pattern.
    I’m so glad you posted a photo! I can’t get enough of your glove!

  2. March 1, 2004 2:29 pm

    Your gloves are just beautiful and they fit so well!

  3. Anne permalink
    March 1, 2004 2:31 pm

    The gloves are a work of art, and you should be very proud of yourself. What a stunning way to keep your hands warm and show the world your skills!

  4. sam permalink
    March 1, 2004 5:10 pm

    Caroline, those are beautiful – and the fit looks perfect! Congratulations. 🙂 You’ll have to give me some glove pointers.

  5. vanessa permalink
    March 2, 2004 1:38 am

    prudence, they are the gloviest! i’m only happy i live somewhere too warm to wear gloves, so i haven’t been sucked into the glove vortex 😉

  6. March 2, 2004 1:56 am

    Absolutely stunning gloves.What an accomplished knitter you are.

  7. Angela permalink
    March 2, 2004 10:03 am

    Beautiful gloves my dear. I may have to check the stash for substitutes, hmmm, I may even have some appropriate Koigu. Inspirational as always. Onwards with LOTSS.

  8. March 2, 2004 11:26 am

    Beautiful! Between you, Lisa and Nanette I have plenty of inspiration for Koigu gloves now! Hopefully I can see these beauties in person in May 🙂

  9. March 2, 2004 8:59 pm

    Absolute!!! The colors are wonderful and make such a handsome pair of gloves. Thanks for posting the pictures.

  10. March 3, 2004 5:39 am

    Your gloves are gorgeous…and look far too complex for me to even think about knitting. I admire you knitters who do the intricate colorwork, but with only five years of experience (and virtually no instruction)I stick to the easy stuff. Keep up the great work!

  11. March 3, 2004 8:33 am

    those are beautiful, and almost enough to make me knit gloves. I love the lines on the palm.

Comments are closed.

