Skip to content

WIPS du jour

March 7, 2004
by

Here’s what is in the works Chez Prudence.

This is ‘Sailor’s Rib’ by Nancy Bush from the Best of Knitters Arans and Celtics book. It calls for 6 inches of ribbing in a men’s large but at 5 inches I gave up – it looked like more than enough ribbing to me – and started the pattern. It’s a very simple pattern, so I memorized it quickly and this is my commuting/lunch hour knitting. I’d forgotten how quickly something knits up in worsted weight yarn on 4mm needles! I’m using Plymouth Galway out of stash for this one.

This is the first 6 rows of Rosarie from Virtual Yarns. I am probably the only person I know who likes these garter stitch checked bands, I don’t in the least mind knitting them because I like the result so much.

The colors are hard to capture, but the background is mostly Calluna which is a dark green, with some Kelpie which is sort of navy blue, and the foreground is mostly Poppy and Red Rattle with a little Clover. The best thing about this pattern: It’s a VEST! NO SLEEVES!

No LOTSS pictures today, still waiting for some yarn from a share I’ve worked out. And I’ve started the ‘Garter Lace’ triangle shawl from Martha Waterman’s lace book, to use up some leftovers including the Koigu left from my gloves – we’ll see if that turns out to be photo worthy.

4 Comments
  1. vanessa permalink
    March 8, 2004 3:26 am

    i like knitting those edgings also 🙂

  2. March 8, 2004 1:24 pm

    thanks vanessa I’m glad I’m not nuts…

  3. March 8, 2004 6:25 pm

    Your Rosemarkie right now is at exactly the same point mine was when I fell in glove. Seeing yours makes me eager to return to that cool checkered edge.

  4. Sam permalink
    March 10, 2004 8:23 am

    Lovely WIP’s, Miss C. I really enjoy that checked edging, too. Is the Red Rattle the really vibrant red? The color on the Sailor’s Rib is gorgeous, too. I feel some colorwork coming on. 🙂

Comments are closed.

