Skip to content

The WIP count at my House

March 14, 2004
by

The WIP count at my house is going the wrong way.

First, there’s LOTSS, which is stalled with one long edging run left to go, while I wait for some more yarn from a kind soul who’ll share (I need less than 200 yards and hate to buy 1300). Sailor’s Rib doesn’t look much different than it did last week, it’s just bigger.

The ones I’m actually making progress on:

Rosarie:

This is not being as enjoyable a knit as I’d hoped – the chart is not easy to memorize so I’m a little slow, and I don’t get as much time to work on it as I’d like. But I know I’ll like it when I am done. Since I will never wear it buttoned, I’m thinking of just doing the garter bands without buttons and buttonholes.

This is the ‘Garter Lace’ pattern from Martha Waterman’s traditional shawls book – I’m using up various leftovers that I thought might coordinate. The navy is leftover Koigu from my gloves (I used half, and the other half will go at the top). The paint is a silk/wool blend from a company called ‘Color Me’ that I don’t think is made anymore. I’m hoping it’ll come out big enough for a little shoulder shawl, I know it’ll stretch a lot when blocked.

I also started the ‘French Market Bag’ from Knitty, because I want a felted knitting bag for work knitting that outgrows my Pink Tea lunchbox, but it’s not photographable yet.

My spinning is photographable, however. This is 3 of what will be 4 bobbins of my Barefoot Spinner wool and mohair.

This is some Shetland I’m using to try to get back into spindling – it’ll be slow going but it’s so open and airy that it’s easy to spin. This was a pound of roving that came in a box less than 12 inches square but has expanded to fill a small garbage bag when given the chance.

And this is what is keeping Emily distracted while I photograph and type – amazing what appeal a toy has when it’s been in the attic for 2 months!

4 Comments
  1. vanessa permalink
    March 14, 2004 11:21 am

    are you superwoman? i love rosarie!

  2. Anne permalink
    March 15, 2004 7:39 pm

    You go, girl, you are an inspiration! But, what is LOTSS?

  3. March 16, 2004 6:31 pm

    I love your spinning, what a beautiful blue. I used to do that with the toys….rotate them in and out of use. Worked like a charm.

  4. March 17, 2004 8:05 am

    LOTSS is Legends of the Shetland Seas, a pattern by Hazel Carter that can be bought at Blackberry Ridge (see the link on the left side of the Pink Tea page). I’m almost done after 6 months of off and on work!

Comments are closed.

