Skip to content

A TTE, A UFO, and Some Yarn

March 22, 2004
by

This was a 3 day weekend for me so I got lots accomplished.

First, a TTE:

This is a sort of shoulder shawl made from various leftover yarn that was too nice to toss in the oddball bin. The dark blue is Koigu left from my herringbone gloves, as is the one small stripe of painted yarn at the top of the photo. The wide painted section is the silk/wool I used to make the Rose Trellis pullover last summer. The pattern is ‘Garter Lace’ from Martha Waterman’s traditional lace shawls book.

I blocked it hard with pins and wires and got it to be about 38 inches across the top and about 24 inches long. I’m wearing it today with a sweater clip to hold it together across the front, and it comes about to my waist in back and the points hang to the bottom of my ribs in front.
I don’t really feel like I can call this a FO. The pattern was perfect for my situation because it starts at the bottom point and goes up, so I could knit until I ran out of yarn. Therefore I decided it is a TTE: a “Thing That Ended”.

Next, a UFO. No, that doesn’t mean what it usually means. In this case, it’s a Unfelted Object, the French Market bag from Knitty, made with Jamiesons Chunky Shetland left from my last felting project.

I have since felted it and it’s blocking. I had to felt it a long time in the washer before I no longer could find the ridges of the stitches. Despite the advice of the pattern, saying to use a towel to increase friction, I think I got better results when it was in the wash by itself.

To try to keep the squareness of the bottom, I used a book, and then I stuffed the rest of it with plastic bags. Hopefully it will be dry tonight and I can shave it tomorrow and take a picture.
Finally, the yarn. This is 3 of what will be about 4 1/2 skeins of wool/mohair yarn spun from the roving bought from the Barefoot Spinner at last year’s Maryland Sheep and Wool festival. I think each of these is about 130-150 yards.

I tried to spin and ply tightly to keep the mohairiness under control. This picture just doesn’t do justice to the brightness of the blue – when the whole lot is done I’ll take it outside and try for a better picture.

This is what the ball looked like before (it was about 11 ounces):

I’m back working on LOTSS again after having received a nice package of little balls of Merino Lace in the mail on Friday. It’s so nice to work with lightweight yarn and needles after drudging on the felted bag for a week, I have sore muscles in my forearms! I hope to have that finished by the end of the month.

3 Comments
  1. vanessa permalink
    March 23, 2004 5:02 am

    caroline, your spinning looks superb!

  2. March 26, 2004 2:53 pm

    That’s amazing yarn! I can only hope I’m that good someday.

  3. June permalink
    March 29, 2004 5:29 am

    Gorgeous looking yarn!! OH My! This has made the Bearfoot Spinner #1 on my list to see at the MDSW Festival!
    June

Comments are closed.

