Skip to content

LOTSS and LOTSS…

March 28, 2004
by

… of work. LOTSS of time. LOTSS and LOTSS of PINS! Legends of the Shetland Seas is finally finished!

Sorry this photo is so big, but this thing turned out to be bigger than I expected, 25 inches across and about 84 inches long.

I soaked it in a weak cornstarch solution before pinning it out, in hopes of defeating merino’s natural tendency to spring back and reject a good block. We’ll see.

This is the center panel.

This is the border pattern, my favorite part of the shawl.

This took from September 16th until today to get done – I don’t think I’ve ever made anything that took so long or was so challenging. I used Skacel Merino Lace, and I ran out of yarn with one side of edging left to complete. One hank is 1350 yards so I owe a big thanks to Leigh C. who sent me a few scraps to finish so that I wouldn’t have to buy another 1350 yards.

It is drying quickly so maybe there will be an in-use picture tomorrow.

I was beginning to resent this thing, because as long as it was in work I didn’t feel I could start another lace project – so it became LOTSS’s fault that I couldn’t start anything new. But now it’s done and all is forgiven, I am trying to think how I can hang it up for display without ruining its shape – I hate to fold it up and stick it in a box someplace.

Miraculously I’m back to only TWO WIPs. Something is going to have to be DONE about that…

9 Comments
  1. March 28, 2004 6:16 pm

    Holy crap!
    That’s GORGEOUS!

  2. Angela permalink
    March 28, 2004 7:01 pm

    Prudence, beautiful as always. Can’t wait to see it in person.

  3. March 29, 2004 5:08 am

    I am without words. How incredibly clever of you.

  4. June permalink
    March 29, 2004 5:25 am

    Looks GREAT Caroline! Makes me want to work on mine!
    June

  5. Beth S. permalink
    March 29, 2004 6:35 am

    Wow. What an accomplishment! And it’S *BEAUTIFUL*, too! I hope you will reward yourself extravagantly for finishing such a huge, complicated project. 🙂

  6. March 29, 2004 8:37 am

    Yes I plan on a chocolate-based incentive program… ;->

  7. Karin permalink
    March 29, 2004 8:37 am

    LOVELY LOVELY LOVELY
    This is too beautiful for words.

  8. Anne permalink
    March 29, 2004 8:40 am

    Wow, that is some work of art! I hope you can find a wonderful way to display it.

  9. April 4, 2004 7:22 am

    Absolutely spectacular, Caroline! This may be just enough to inspire me to pick up the lace needles again!

Comments are closed.

