Skip to content

In step with a season…

March 29, 2004

…just not this season. The cherry trees have bloomed, there’s a big bird party in the trees, and flowers are popping up everywhere. I love these:

and this…

So, what am I knitting? You’d think some breezy cotton number to take advantage of the warming weather, but no. My current project has been Oat Couture’s Celtic Cardigan:

I had originally started this project in some overdyed hand spun, but it sat abandoned for about a year, a sleeve and a half away from completion. I finally decided that I didn’t like some of the color variegations that were happening, and that I was never going to finish the beast. I ripped the whole thing out and started over again in some Briggs & Little that I had in the stash. The color is called Grey Heather, and in these pics, it actually does look grey. In real life, it’s much greener. One of my favorite features of this pattern is that the buttonhole placement is figured into the band pattern – very handy. The pattern is well-written, easy to follow, and error-free, as far as I can tell. Here it is kinda/sorta put together:

Here’s a detail of the left front band:

I’ve been wrestling with the digicam, so these pics are a bit grainy, but with a little more fiddling, the FO pictures should be better. Interior house painting took precedence over knitting this weekend, but I’m about halfway through the second front band. I should be able to finish it up tonight and start seaming together. Yay!

7 Comments
  1. March 30, 2004 5:36 am

    Sam! Welcome to Pink Tea! You know, you must have started your entry a day before you published it, so it’s buried down below all the blather about LOTSS!

  2. vanessa permalink
    March 30, 2004 6:32 am

    i love the buttonbands 🙂 can’t wait to see it in person!

  3. Beth S. permalink
    March 30, 2004 7:08 am

    Cardigan looks great! I have this pattern in my stash, and have been hoping to see a “real-world” example of it somewhere. Your WIP looks nicer than the pattern illustration–much less baggy, for one thing. I hope you’ll model it when it’s done! 🙂

  4. March 30, 2004 7:44 am

    Cheerful flowers, their mission is to make us forget about the dreary winter, right? It works! Celtic is looking very nice.

  5. KarenC permalink
    March 30, 2004 8:57 am

    Sam, I love that “woven” effect on the cardigan yoke. I’ve liked this sweater, too (have the pattern sitting in stash). You’ll have it finished just in time for today’s rainshowers!

  6. Angela permalink
    March 30, 2004 9:20 am

    Sam, it’s looking fabulous. I can’t wait to see it all together. You and Caroline are putting me to shame!

  7. Sam permalink
    March 30, 2004 5:40 pm

    Thank you, everyone, for the support, and thanks for the welcome, Caroline! You’re right, Beth – it is less baggy looking in real life, though I used a slightly smaller gauge yarn, and one size smaller needles, as my size wasn’t really represented in the pattern – it’s worked out well. Vanessa, I’ll be sure to pack this thing for Maryland and hope that it isn’t too hot by May! I missed the window for today’s rain, Karen, but I’m hoping to have it done by this weekend! Thanks again, everyone. 🙂

Comments are closed.

