Skip to content

Jade FO; Sailor’s Collar

April 29, 2004
by

Here is my rendition of (now I will tell what it is) the ‘Jade’ shawl from Sharon Miller’s ‘Simply Stunning’ collection.

It calls for Kid Silk Haze and I do not enjoy knitting with or wearing mohair, so I turned to the stash and pulled out this fingering weight cashmere/merino in a purple/white twist (this stuff was floating around a lot a year or two ago, I bought this from a Knitswapper and I have another batch I bought on eBay in a different color). Unfortunately you can’t really see the twist effect in the photos, it just looks like a purple shawl. In person it is a bit more interesting.

It was a very simple lace pattern to knit, so it doesn’t clash with the slightly offbeat yarn. Although the pattern is marked ‘Experienced’, I would definitely recommend this to someone who wants to try a first lace project.

I lengthened it by adding one more set of diamonds at the top of the shawl.

I’ve tried several new things this week, learned from my very smart online knitting friends. On this shawl, I used a lace bindoff I learned from Elka: K1, slip the sttich back to the left needle and knit it together with the next stitch, and repeat till you are done. It made a very stretchy edge that also had a nice finished look to it, like a 2 stitch I-cord. Thanks Elka!

This shawl only took me from April 1st to April 27th to knit, and I used just under 6 ounces of the yarn, something less than 800 yards.

Last night, Sailor’s Rib got its neckband finished.

I modified the neckline slightly because I didn’t want to use a button-over shoulder – so I just widened the neck opening by putting more stitches on hold at the center front. I think it will block out to be fine, but it won’t let any drafts in, that’s for sure! I chose to make a fold-and-sew neckband for the nicely finished look, since this is going to be a gift.

When I was discussing this with Vanessa, she said that she did the same kind of neckband on a gansey she designed for her husband, and instead of binding off and sewing, she “sort of kitchenered” the live stitches down to the row where she did the picking up. Wow, I thought, what a brilliant idea, I can just see how that would work. So, that’s what I did. Yarn through the first stitch as to purl, leave on needle; catch to the appropriate place on the body; yarn through the first stitch as to knit, and slip; repeat. It was time-consuming with about 140 stitches, and I’m sure I didn’t do it as perfectly as Vanessa did, but what a nice finished look you get on the inside, and it’s totally elastic because NO BOUND OFF EDGE!!

I hope I can bring you a photo of the famous gansey next week with the MS&W Soiree Report.

Whew! Done with something! I think my next new thing will be the Wool Peddler’s shawl from Folk Shawls, with some Noro Cash Iroha I bought on sale. A good bit of the fun of finishing something is feeling entitled to start something else, isn’t it?

8 Comments
  1. vanessa permalink
    April 29, 2004 8:51 am

    can’t wait to see your fos at the soiree 🙂

  2. April 29, 2004 8:55 am

    WOW your shawl looks even nicer than the mohair one pictured. Guess I *won’t* be coveting that yarn anymore….

  3. Sam permalink
    April 29, 2004 8:55 am

    Good grief, Woman – you’re a machine!! The shawl is gorgeous, and I think the purple is fantastic. 🙂 I’m really looking forward to seeing the Sailor’s Rib in person; the collar is very nice looking – heck, I wanna see *all* of this year’s FO’s! Congratulations – great work!

  4. Linette permalink
    April 29, 2004 9:47 am

    That’s a beautiful shawl, Prudence! Simply stunning 🙂

  5. Roi permalink
    April 29, 2004 2:39 pm

    So pretty – but do you have room for all the pretty shawls you’ve knit?
    Many thanks for sharing Elka’s lace bind-off techniqaue and also for Vanessa’s kitchenered neckband. Great ideas to try.

  6. Anne permalink
    April 29, 2004 3:37 pm

    Those are just beautiful garments, and you do wonderful work. I love the shawl design, the simplicity works great with the lace and fiber. You can never have too many shawls, and I love the color.

  7. Debi permalink
    April 30, 2004 12:41 am

    Caroline, you are an AMAZING knitter!! I have rarely seen such precision stitches, that shawl looks machine knit! WOW, I aspire to be YOU!! The gansey is just lovely too!
    BTW, the neck bind off for your gansey is called a “slip stitch” and it’s in Vogue Knitting if you want a reference. I think I might have seen it in Katarina Buss’ Big Book of Knitting too, either that and/or Montse Stanleys Knitting Digest.

  8. May 2, 2004 7:02 pm

    Both projects look gorgeous. I have been reading about completing necks without bind-offs, by sewing live stitches and will be trying that on a project I have just started. Glad to hear that you liked the results.

Comments are closed.

