Skip to content

A Little Red Wine

May 8, 2004
by

This is a teeny (58 yard) hank of bluefaced leicester fiber in the ‘red wine’ colorway, from Dyeing for Fiber, that I spindled over the last couple of weeks. It isn’t very consistent yarn, but it’s soft and the colors turned out so beautiful. This was spun from a sample Sheila gave me last summer, she pulled off enough to get a complete cycle of colors and it ended up being a little over a yard of roving.

What to do with 58 yards of perhaps light-worsted yarn?? I didn’t start out intending to end up with something worth doing something with, but the roving was like a magic purse and kept going and going and going.

This is about all I have to show for the week. I started Wool Peddlers (from Folk Shawls) on Monday but it is a blob of garter stitch at this point and not yet photogenic. I have about 5 inches of sleeves done for Sailors Rib but they’re not impressive. Rosarie is above the front neck steek but doesn’t look much different than it did last week. Agatha is a little longer but again doesn’t look very different. And what’s on the wheel right now is black merino that is going to make a TON of yardage so there won’t be anything to see there for quite awhile either. So, I hope my little red hank is of passing interest! Happy Mothers’ Day!

4 Comments
  1. Anne permalink
    May 8, 2004 9:08 pm

    You could make a pretty, lacy scarf. A lacy stitch on a large needle would stretch your yardage and show off your yarn. It is very beautiful.

  2. May 10, 2004 7:43 am

    Pretty, Caroline! We must have been on the same wavelength, ‘cuz I finished spinning a third bobbin of that and 3-plied it. It’s very pretty but I haven’t washed it yet, so haven’t swatched anything. I ended up with about 230 yards for my first skein.

  3. Sam permalink
    May 10, 2004 8:13 am

    That color is simply stunning, Caroline. I’d love to see it as cuffs or an edging detail on a sharp little black sweater, or something that would really showcase that color. Lovely work!

  4. Linette permalink
    May 10, 2004 1:08 pm

    Ooh, I love Sam’s idea! That color would look great as an accent on a black or navy blue sweater.

Comments are closed.

