Skip to content

Rosarie Is Done; A Poll

May 23, 2004
by

I had a couple of extra hours this week and finished Rosarie.

I found 2 errors in the pattern, which is really unusual for Virtual Yarns. One, I caught in time to do it right. The other, I didn’t notice until it was too late. It says to bind off the armhole bands in Kelpie which makes no sense because you’ve just done two garter check rows with Calluna and Red Rattle; it should say Calluna. Also, it forgot to mention you should purl one round after picking up the armband stitches before beginning the garter checks.

I started this on March 4th and completed it on May 21st. It was not very difficult and I only really made one mistake, which I’ll leave to you to figure out….

Now, the poll: I did not make buttonholes, because I knew I would never button this thing in my lifetime. So, the question is – should I leave it as is, or put one clasp on it? Here are photos to help you decide.

No clasp:

Clasp:

In other knitting news, Sailors Rib is almost done seaming and will be seen here soon, same bat time same bat station…. That one was started on Feb 22nd.

In the local good-news-bad-news department, our guests from last weekend’s entry have now flown up into the trees and during the daylight hours they drown out the leaf blowers.

12 Comments
  1. May 23, 2004 6:57 pm

    Clasp, but not in bright silver. I would go with pewter or old gold (which, of course, would cost a fortune).
    lizzy

  2. Anne permalink
    May 23, 2004 7:22 pm

    I, also, feel the clasp is not subtle enough. It overpowers the intricate pattern, in my opinion. It looks great without the clasp, but if you need something to help it lay flat at the neck, I would look for an alternative closing method. You could sew a button on the WRONG side of the right or left neckband, chain stitch a loop for inside of the other neckband, and loop it around the button on the wrong side, bringing the two halves together invisibly. The beautifully knit material ought to be the star of this masterpiece.

  3. Linette permalink
    May 23, 2004 8:53 pm

    Absolutely beautiful! I like the clasp on it, but that’s just me. Congratulations!!

  4. Roi permalink
    May 24, 2004 6:59 am

    Another beautiful accomplishment. And I enjoy the clasp – feel it complements the pattern rather than detracts.

  5. May 24, 2004 7:34 am

    I agree with Anne. The piece is so beautiful on its own that the clasp makes it appear “less than”. I run into this problem sometimes on projects and end up with really subtle handmade buttons that upon close scrutiny are like works of art that must be seen close up, but at a distance they fade into the piece. If you feel that you must have something hold the neck closed, do what Anne suggested, otherwise I vote for “nekkid”.
    Lisa S

  6. Zeila permalink
    May 24, 2004 7:39 am

    I vote no clasp. I think the design speaks for itself.

  7. May 24, 2004 8:25 am

    Clasp! Definitely!

  8. Sam permalink
    May 24, 2004 9:39 am

    I’m in the “clasp, but a duller finish” camp. Beautiful, beautiful work, Caroline. That’s going to look gorgeous on you!

  9. Linette permalink
    May 24, 2004 10:24 am

    Can I vote twice? Just kidding 🙂 I think the clasp is a nice accent because, while the FI design is intricate, it doesn’t have too many colors in it. I agree with Sam that maybe a duller finish might be nicer, but I’m guessing that that clasp, since it’s pewter, is in fact a little duller in real life than in the photo, espcially if the photo was taken with a flash? Of course, it would be gorgeous either way, so you can’t make a mistake here. Or you could forgo the clasp and use a brooch/pin – that way you’d have different looks to suit your mood.

  10. Lark- ASOF permalink
    May 24, 2004 12:24 pm

    OMG, that’s gorgeous!!!!!! I’d vote against the clasp. It’s such a gorgeous thing, all on its own, that the clasp actually detracts from it. Instead, what about an I-cord loop in your darkest color with a matching button or toggle? It would be a nice, subtle accent, but more in harmony with your GORGEOUS, LOVELY, SPECTACULAR knitting.
    Lark

  11. May 24, 2004 5:29 pm

    Hi Caroline!
    What a gorgeous job you’ve done on Rosarie. I like the idea of a clasp but agree with others that suggested something a little more subtle. ;o)

  12. May 25, 2004 5:17 am

    Marvelous, Caroline. It’s just beautiful. And thanks for the heads-up about the errors.
    Wow! Woofs! Snaps!
    P.S. I usually like clasps, but this one doesn’t seem as perfect as Rosarie is…

Comments are closed.

