Skip to content

Wool Peddlers Shawl

June 1, 2004
by

This is currently my farthest-along WIP, the Wool Peddlers shawl from Folk Shawls. I am using Noro Cash Iroha (40% silk, 30% lambswool, 20% cashmere, 10% nylon) purchased on sale, which seemed like a risky choice given that the pattern calls for a mohair blend and I always find yardage requirements misleading when they are based on a mohair yarn… But, it seems to be working out quite well and I should have sufficient yarn to add at least one additional repeat of the 8-row pattern.

I don’t know if I’ve succeeded in conveying the wonderful sheen this yarn has, but I’ve tried to take closeups so you can see how cushy the garter stitch section is and how nicely it changes to stockinette and works with the simple lace pattern. It’s also an odd yarn, it’s a fat single, and there are sections that almost seem unspun as well as sections that are a bit thinner than you’d think. Perfect for a non-precision project like this.

This is going to be an extremely cuddly shawl, and the pattern is super easy – if you have 900 or 1000 yards of worsted weight yarn you’d love to wrap up in, I’d say go for it. I have gone up a needle size from the pattern requirement (I’m using size 8) and I’m getting a fabric that’s probably a bit loose for the yarn, but with a shawl I think that’ll be preferable.

This is my current lunch-hour-Emily-bath-anywhere-everywhere knitting so I am hoping it will be done fairly soon. Then: To block or not to block?

6 Comments
  1. vanessa permalink
    June 2, 2004 5:00 am

    will washing and blocking make the yarn even cuddlier?

  2. June 2, 2004 5:42 am

    No idea! It’s so much silk content…

  3. June 2, 2004 6:31 am

    When I knit this shawl (out of very different yarn) I gave it a very light block, just for shape. Any more than that really seemed to spoil the “cushy” texture.
    I love the yarn you chose for this.

  4. Sam permalink
    June 2, 2004 9:26 am

    What a great color for you, Caroline. The yarn has such a lovely sheen. I would give it a very light blocking just to set the stitches, but that’s probably about it. Will we get modeling photos?

  5. Angela permalink
    June 3, 2004 11:26 am

    Caroline, the shawl looks lovely – and I agree with Sam – just a light block.

  6. June 7, 2004 5:56 am

    I made this for my Mom a couple of Christmases ago; I used a red wool and she continues to describe the thing as her Warm Hug. Isn’t it a fun thing to knit? I love the color you are using.

Comments are closed.

