Skip to content

Knit This Shawl

June 10, 2004
by

I finished my Wool Peddlers shawl (from the book Folk Shawls), and I have one thing to say: Everyone needs this shawl. It’s incredibly easy and fast to knit, the pattern is easy to change by doing more repeats, it would suit just about any worsted weight wool that’s reasonably uniform, and you’ll love it when you’re done.

It was too big to photograph without standing on something, and there was nothing on hand.

I used Noro Cash Iroha and size 8 needles, and knitted until I thought I had enough for the garter stitch border, which I ended up shorting 3 rows because I didn’t want to run out before I was done.

I decided on a gentle, no-wire block, so I just washed it out in warm water and Ivory Snow and laid it out flat to dry. The yarn got even softer and smoother after washing, which I would not have thought possible.

It ended up just over a yard deep from neck to point, a perfect length. This will get a lot of use come cold weather.

Statistics: Started May 3, finished June 9. Just under 10 full hanks of Noro Cash Iroha in shade 86 (midnight blue).

I finished knitting the Sophie bag from Magknits yesterday and felted it today. Photos soon.

6 Comments
  1. Linette permalink
    June 10, 2004 7:08 pm

    Wow! Awesome! I’d kinda decided that I’m not a shawl-wearing kinda gal, but this just might’ve changed my mind.

  2. June 11, 2004 7:05 am

    That’s one good looking shawl. I second the “you must knit this” sentiments. I made this a while ago (photos in my gallery) and loved it. Loved it. Loved it. Considering what a simple shawl it is, it’s got a huge payoff. Beautiful in that yarn too.

  3. June 11, 2004 3:40 pm

    wow, that is beautiful. very lovely! thanks for the recommendation, i have that book waiting in the wings but just had no idea which one i would do first. well, that is, after i crochet around the border of the keepsake i just finished…. (that final step could take me months!!)

  4. June 14, 2004 10:56 pm

    YOur shwal is so pretty. I’ve got my stash of Cash Iroha and same color as yours I think and also the Folk Shawls Book. I’ve been saving the Cash Iroha to knit somthing from Cornelia Hamilton’s Noro Book, but now I’m thinking about this!

  5. June 15, 2004 2:34 pm

    Your shawl looks great! I have the Folk Shawls book and LOVE it — the peddler’s shawl is on my short list, for sure. Great job!

  6. June 27, 2004 5:11 pm

    It’s so nice! I think I’ll make that as soon as I finish some of these WIPs I have going. It is nice and big, and I want something like that to cuddle in while I read on the couch. 🙂
    Great job!

Comments are closed.

