Skip to content

Morgan 1987-2004

June 12, 2004
by

Sophie is felted and photographed but I don’t care today, maybe tomorrow.

Morgan (and her sister who is still quite alive and well, thanks) was a Humane Society kitty. She was the goofy one, the one who knocked things over and came downstairs like a herd of elephants, carried toy mice around in her mouth yowling.

She was the beauty queen, too – poofy pure white fur, a huge glamorous raccoon tail, extravagantly pink nose, impossibly loud purr.

She was afraid of almost all people, until about her last 3 years, when she suddenly became calm about it all. She made me completely crazy with inappropriate and widespread peeing, it’s going to take some time now to track down and treat every place where she made a little mess. She went downhill over the past 8 or 10 months, even in her favorite perch under our tree in December she didn’t look quite herself.

You always wonder at a time like this, did you wait too long, not long enough. I think not, though, I think today was her day. I felt peculiar signing the death warrant but I’ve been expecting it for months. Bye, Boo-Boo. We’ll miss you.

22 Comments
  1. June 12, 2004 10:40 am

    Oh, I’m soooo sorry for your loss. Morgan is definitely in Kitty Heaven….

  2. Debi permalink
    June 12, 2004 2:06 pm

    when you love something, you set it free….
    I’m so sad for your loss.

  3. June 13, 2004 3:17 am

    I can feel your sorrow, we have at the moment nine(9) cats in the house, and to loose one is hard, they are just like humans(sometimes even better) Our “big” mother Wilma and her 5 kittens, her son Simba,our great male, and the two sisters Nora and Maja.The two girls never got a new home.They are all dear to us. Before them we got two cats who lived 15-16 years and we moorned a long time when they died. Life must go on, but when something like this happens the world can stop for a moment.

  4. June 13, 2004 3:06 pm

    There is nothing I can say about losing a cat. It is just too hard.

  5. Jocelyne permalink
    June 14, 2004 6:34 am

    I actually have 5 cats. I had 6, but Tara passed away at the age of 14,5, past october (17), and i still miss her. It’s very hard to loose a cat.
    I cried while reading what you wrote……….

  6. Lisa permalink
    June 14, 2004 6:40 am

    Very sorry to read about Morgan. It’s one of the hardest decisions to have to make, but I know she’s in a better place. (Hey, if cats don’t go to heaven, then none of us do!) Take care.

  7. June 14, 2004 7:01 am

    So sorry about Morgan. My sympathies.

  8. Mary permalink
    June 14, 2004 7:15 am

    You have my complete sympathy for what you are going through right now with the loss of Morgan. I went through it for the first time in my life about 3 months ago. He was 17 years old, and very much like you describe your Morgan. If it helps, I found a site that helped me with the emotional upheaval I felt from second guessing my decision: http://www.pet-loss.net/guilt.html

  9. Cathy permalink
    June 14, 2004 7:57 am

    I’m sorry for your loss. Isn’t it crazy
    how attached we get to these furry little
    animals?!

  10. Angela permalink
    June 14, 2004 9:29 am

    Oh Caroline – Morgan had a wonderful time with you, my best wishes and condolences.

  11. June 14, 2004 9:56 am

    It is so hard to lose a pet – they are part of your family.
    When I lost my first cat (five years ago), I didn’t think I would ever get over it.
    There are many of us out here who feel your pain.
    Take care.

  12. Laura permalink
    June 14, 2004 10:26 am

    So sorry about your kitty! How’s her sister doing with her being gone?

  13. dragonridermom permalink
    June 14, 2004 11:24 am

    Oh how hard it is to say good bye. Letting her go was the last thing you could do for her. Sending comforting thoughts your way!

  14. June 14, 2004 12:51 pm

    What a beautiful cat! I’m so sorry about Morgan. Take care of yourself.

  15. June 14, 2004 5:32 pm

    I was just talking about your girls yesterday, marveling at how advanced in age they are/were. She had a great long life– isn’t that 119 years old for a cat? So sorry she’s gone though, for your sake.

  16. Thanh permalink
    June 15, 2004 9:59 am

    Caroline and Emily: Thank you for sharing your sad news with us. My thoughts are with you and Emily. So sorry.

  17. Katie permalink
    June 15, 2004 11:09 am

    Well it never gets easier, but if you want to share your life with these wonderful creatures then I guess it is part of the package. We have always had cats in our life and have been through this more than once now – I am sure you knew when the time was right to let her go.

  18. June 15, 2004 2:26 pm

    I’m so sorry for your loss! Such a pretty cat. A few years ago, I lost my darling Squeak – she was only a few years old. My cat is my baby girl! I asked my Grandpa, who was dying at the time, to look for her when he got to heaven. He smiled & said he would. I hope my darling Moka lives a good, long life.

  19. Anne permalink
    June 15, 2004 4:09 pm

    I am very sorry for your great loss. She was a beautiful cat, and I know you will miss her.

  20. June 17, 2004 5:24 am

    So sorry for your loss.

  21. June 20, 2004 11:52 am

    So sorry to read about your kitty, Morgan. I just lost my beloved Chessie back in May. She was 17 yrs. old and had started peeing all over the house too. I think she was telling me it was time to go. You have my condolences.
    Lea >^..^<

  22. KarenC permalink
    June 30, 2004 8:00 pm

    For 17 years you gave Morgan a good home and loved her. 17 is a good long life for a cat. You have no reason to wonder or worry whether you did enough for her.
    My heart goes out to you and Emily for your loss.

Comments are closed.

