Skip to content

The go-with-the-flo-FI

June 16, 2004
by

Yeah, it’s a little busy, and yeah, the bottom’s rolling a bit, but this is just too much fun! I think it’s time to transition to wider motifs, and to cut down on the lime green. The rolling will block out, I hope. If it doesn’t, I might fold the edge back like a hem and sew it down. That turqoise is Rowan fine chenille. I’ve been warned about using chenille in this project, but I can’t help myself. I love that color and texture and had to use it. For all its flaws, I think this will be a fun, wearable garment. I’m calling her Lydia.

Linette

12 Comments
  1. June 16, 2004 11:49 am

    Lydia is gorgeous- I love your color choice! That will be great to go wider right about there..can’t wait to see more of it 🙂

  2. Kit permalink
    June 16, 2004 12:00 pm

    Now I can’t get Groucho Marx outa my head. He’s singing, ” Lydia the Tatooed Lady.” Great color combination.

  3. Linette permalink
    June 16, 2004 12:06 pm

    Heh-heh! That song was going through my head too!
    Although, *ahem* she’s actually named after a character in Pride and Prejudice. What better source than Jane Austen for a random bunch of girls’ names!

  4. June 16, 2004 1:02 pm

    If you like more cows, click here: http://prague.cowparade.com/ 🙂

  5. June 16, 2004 6:25 pm

    Very nice, Linette. You’re so creative.
    P.S. Don’t worry about the cow comment, I left a comment on Louise’s blog saying I loved the cow sculptures she photographed in Prague, so that’s not spam…

  6. Linette permalink
    June 16, 2004 6:42 pm

    Thanks, Caroline. I actually visited the cow site and enjoyed it, but I was kind of puzzled at the connection 🙂

  7. June 17, 2004 5:25 am

    Great now I have the song Lydia running through my head too 🙂
    Your lydia is gorgeous. great colors.

  8. June 18, 2004 7:52 am

    Absolutely love the color scheme, Lydia is beautiful!

  9. Sam permalink
    June 18, 2004 10:12 am

    Wowza – beautiful, Linette! And the patterning suits the name, somehow. Your color sense is lovely. 🙂

  10. June 20, 2004 9:44 am

    Hi!
    you made a swatch in August2003 with blue colours and later in red. Did you ever made a sweater of it? I really like the swatch and wonder if its possible to use it for a sweater?
    Regards Marianne

  11. Roi permalink
    June 21, 2004 6:19 am

    You know how the rich and famous have personal shoppers? Well, I wish Linette could be my personal colorist – fibers, clothes, home decorating, hair, makeup . . .

  12. June 21, 2004 3:59 pm

    Linette, you have a great sense of color. It looks like you come by it naturally. Kudos, kiddo! :o)
    Lisa S

Comments are closed.

