Skip to content

WIP Roll Call

June 21, 2004
by

I’m way behind on my Pink Tea postings, so I’m going to try to catch up all at once here.

This is the Sophie bag from magknits.com, in sky blue Plymouth Galway.

It’s such a perfect shape and size, it holds my wallet and cell phone and keys comfortably. I knitted the handles until they were 24 inches long instead of 20, and it hangs nicely over my shoulder.

I did have a glitch in the handles so if you peer closely you’ll see that they are totally ‘kluged’ as we say in the computer business. First, I mistakenly thought you knitted one of the I cords from each side of the bag but you were really supposed to knit them both from the same side. Then, I knitted them both at once and accidentally crossed the yarns, so when I was done I had to snip the yarn to do the twisting – this did not hold up in the washer. So, the handles are wrapped and sewn with a strand of matching yarn. Maybe I’ll make another one and give this one to Emily.

This is the completed back of the ‘Agatha’ shell from the newest Elsebeth Lavold book.

I’m about halfway up the front, and knitting relentlessly during lunch hour and Emily’s baths, so I’m hoping to have it done soon to wear during July. Once I finish the front, all that’s left is a boatload of crocheted edging. I’m using Noro Lily and size 6 needles – this yarn is so enjoyable to knit with!

This is my Siberian Winter – here you see about 90 rows completed, the border pattern plus about half of one repeat of the center square. To give you and idea of proportions, the total shawl is 370 rows or so, plus an edging. I am really enjoying this pattern.

And this is the left front of the lace cardigan in the Dale 109 book.

I’m using Alpafina yarn in cream, and 3.0mm needles. The yarn is not that impressively soft in the ball, but it is making a creamy fabric knit up. This will take me forever and ever but it will be beautiful to wear when it’s finished. The pattern is extremely simple and it will probably get quite boring after knitting an entire cardigan in it, but I see this becoming carry-around knitting after Agatha is done. I started this on June 12th.

There’s black merino on the wheel but nothing photogenic yet. There aren’t enough hours in the day…

Thank you for all your kind comments about Morgan. She was a good cat. I think the other cat is a little sad about it but she doesn’t seem really depressed. I don’t think Emily has noticed yet that she’s missing, she still tells people we have 2 cats and I don’t have the heart to correct her.

4 Comments
  1. June 21, 2004 7:18 am

    Yay! You started your lace cardi. It looks lovely!
    we are in the same boat, mine is on 3.0 mm needles as well. I have pictures on my blog, I’m rediculously proud of it. It is my proper English cardi. 🙂
    Your other projects look wonderful as well.
    I am sorry about your cat, I can’t imagine what would happen if my dog died.

  2. Linette permalink
    June 21, 2004 11:21 am

    Looking good, Prudence! That’s a great color for Siberian Winter.

  3. Michele permalink
    June 23, 2004 9:07 am

    Apologies for posting in the wrong place. I saw AnneL’s S. Charles Ritratto scarf posted on April 1, 2004. She offered the pattern. I’d love to receive it! How can I contact her?
    Ignorantly,
    Michele R

  4. Angela permalink
    June 26, 2004 11:15 pm

    Pictures Pictures of Agatha in use!!!

Comments are closed.

