Skip to content

Agatha

June 27, 2004
by

Last week I finished ‘Agatha’ from Elsebeth Lavold’s recent book Sentimental Journey.

It has a very simple crocheted edging that I found appealing although I do not enjoy doing crochet. This is the neckline with its edging.

I was worried that it was going to turn out too narrow, but simply blocking it by rinsing in warm water and laying it out seemed to relax it and it fit just fine.

The yarn was Noro Lily (70% cotton and 30% silk) – it’s not so much plyed as a cabled construction, very drapey and lustrous to knit with and to wear. I used a bit more yardage of this than the pattern specified for the Cotton Patine yarn, I think because I knitted it slightly tighter and needed more rows to an inch. I was afraid of sagging – turns out I wish I had made the edging tighter, because I could tell instantly upon putting it on that the armholes were going to sag. I needed a quick fix (it was 7am Friday and time to run out the door) so I ran a sort of basting line of matching doubled sewing thread around the armholes and it seems to have done the trick.

I started this April 7th and finished it June 24th, and used almost 6 hanks of Noro Lily.

Coming soon: Dyeing and Plying Silk: The Thrills, the Chills, the Results.

9 Comments
  1. Janette permalink
    June 28, 2004 4:06 am

    Agatha is just beautiful, as is Lydia and all your projects! I have been trying to knit the Wool Peddler’s Shawl and have ripped out the lace set up rows, 1 and 2 at least 7 times. The written words don’t match the chart and when I write out the chart I still end up ripping. I am now stuck on the left side of row 3….any tips or tricks you remember, or is it just me? I have knit 4 other shawls from “Folk Shawls” without a hitch and this one has me stumped. I just now figured out that the increases are shown on the charts but not meant to be actually knitted….Any tips you might have would be greatly appreciated!

  2. June 28, 2004 5:21 am

    It’s so Lovely! The crochet edging adds a sense of delicacy and girly-girlishness–love it!

  3. janet d permalink
    June 28, 2004 3:16 pm

    this is lovely — I just bought this book & it’s great to see something actually knit up. Great knitting!

  4. Linette permalink
    June 28, 2004 6:57 pm

    Verry pretty!

  5. Angela permalink
    June 29, 2004 11:21 am

    Caroline, Agatha is truly lovely on you, I may have to buy this book after all.

  6. sam permalink
    June 29, 2004 11:05 pm

    Well, I don’t know how I missed this, but it’s absolutely lovely on you – what a spectacular fit! Dang, I’ve really been trying to avoid buying this book. 😉

  7. June 30, 2004 7:09 am

    What a surprise! I turned the page right past that one, thinking it wasn’t anything too exciting, but on you it’s spectacular. Definitely worth another look.

  8. July 2, 2004 1:06 pm

    Hi! Your Agatha is beautiful. I found your site by googling the pattern name…I’ve just started one myself! Thanks for the inspiration.

  9. July 4, 2004 3:16 pm

    Agatha looks lovely! 🙂

Comments are closed.

