Skip to content

Kitty

August 16, 2004
by

Emily’s Kit sweater (from Elsebeth Lavold’s Sentimental Journey) is finished.

This is it before blocking.

This is it at the mandatory try-on the SECOND the last seam was completed.

Yes, it’s a little big… this just means she’ll probably wear it a total amount of time that exceeds the amount of time spent making it.

Blocking consisted of 20 minutes soaking in a solution of Retayne dye fixative and my hot tap water (which maxes out at about 135 degrees), rolling in a towel without rinsing, and laying flat. It shed a boatload of dye into the sink and into the towel but I hope that is the end of that. The cat didn’t get speckled in the process either.

I used Cotton Fleece and size 4 and 6 needles and made the largest size. It took from July 18th until yesterday to knit and the seaming was completed today.

I may start this next.

It’s the kit for Saga Rose from the 3rd Jamiesons book. The kit is from Two Swans Yarn (see the sidebar under shopping links) – their page about this sweater is here. Isn’t it bee-yoo-tiful? I realize I haven’t made a colorwork sweater since St. Michaels which I finished well over a year ago, so it’s time. I think I will wait until I get well into the edging on Siberian Winter before I start, though.

The Dale lace cardigan is totally stalled, but I’ve knitted about 3 inches on my knee socks – pictures once they get down closer to the ankle. Meanwhile I’m swatching a little, to satisfy the desire to play with all my great yarn. This is a swatch of the ‘Pendants’ lace pattern from the second Barbara Walker treasury, knitted on size 3.25mm needles in the silk from hell that I wrote so much about earlier this spring.

It isn’t half bad, and it wasn’t torture to knit with it. It even sort of took a block. So, maybe I will keep it after all. I made the photo pretty big, in hopes of getting across that wonderful subtle interplay of the different shades of blue in the 2 plys, but I have a feeling it’s not possible….

3 Comments
  1. vanessa permalink
    August 17, 2004 4:19 am

    miss em looks adoeable 🙂 and there is nothing more delightful than opening a box of shetland yarn and playing with the colors!

  2. August 19, 2004 5:31 am

    Yay, Kit! Emily is adorable, as is the sweater. Whew! I’m looking forward to seeing the Saga Rose – They had one at our LYS; I love that sweater.

  3. September 14, 2004 7:15 pm

    What a pretty little girl, and that sweater is amazing! 🙂 Great work!

Comments are closed.

