Skip to content

Girly Gansey

October 24, 2004
by

I’ve been leading a Gansey Group at my local Yarn Store (ThreadBear Fiber Arts – yay!). We’re working through the sampler in Beth Brown Reinsel’s fabulously detailed book, Knitting Ganseys. I’ve already done the sampler, so am working on a child-size model.

Here’s a picture of the Channel Island cast-on (described in the book) and split garter welts:

and some seed-stitch initials inset in the “plain area”:

and the start of the snakes and ladders:

We’ll be doing arm gussets at our next meeting, so that’s about as far as I need to get this month! It’s good (for me) to have small goals.

4 Comments
  1. October 25, 2004 4:54 am

    Very cute! Enjoy these years when she’ll wear anything you stick on her – trust me, they will end sooner than you think…

  2. October 25, 2004 6:08 am

    Ha! Is that why there aren’t a lot of pattern books for kids older than ~3? I will just have to keep a stream of nieces and nephews and friends’ babies coming along. Emily’s still wearing your handknits, it seems…maybe there is hope.

  3. October 25, 2004 8:01 am

    Um, she MODELS them. That’s different! I’m having to resort to shameless things like “If you don’t wear the sweaters I knit I won’t knit any more!”

  4. Zeila permalink
    October 25, 2004 9:43 am

    Looks a lot like the At Sea Gansey I made in pink Scottish Fleet last year (sorry I haven’t gotten ’round to posting pictures yet).
    I tell the wee one that they are for her when she grows up, knowing full well that no one wants to wear her Mom’s sweaters until she is at least 40!

Comments are closed.

