Skip to content

Once In Love With Cormo…

October 30, 2004
by

I finished off the black merino, finally, the other day, after it occupied the wheel for 6 months.

It totals 15.5 ounces (half an ounce got lost in the shuffle) and about 845 yards. I can get less yardage out of a pound of fiber than anyone I know. I’m terrified of merino so I spin very high twist to keep it hanging together, then I get yarn that is dense dense dense. I haven’t measured wraps per inch but it’s looking like sport or light DK weight.

To refresh myself with something soothing and simple I went for my pound of white Cormo pencil roving, bought from the American Cormo Sheep Association at MS&W in the spring. If you went to a fiber dictionary and looked under “perfectly prepared,” you’d see this:

It’s clean, and white, and doesn’t even need predrafting – I just pull off a yard and spin and spin and spin. If I can keep this up I’ll have my first laceweight handspun. Or even 3 ply fingering if I get enough single. It is spinning so fine. And I switched to scotch tension. My last hank of merino suffered from my tinkering with my wheel setup in double drive – I got it operating much more smoothly than it ever has, but I couldn’t get the takeup the way I wanted it, so we’re trying another way. So far it seems to be working very well.

This Cormo is the most wonderful stuff. I was reading up on it online the other day, Cormo sheep result from a corriedale/merino cross. But to me it seems like what I’d get if I crossed shetland and merino and got the best of both – it’s lofty and airy and springy like the shetland I’ve spun before, but silky like merino, and the fibers happily stick together in the spinning. I’m not sure what vendor actually sold this – the Cormo association booth was filled with things from association members – but it says ‘AF’ on the little tag which must indicate who it came from. I want more Cormo. I want combs so I can get Cormo fleece and comb it. I think I’m coming down with a disease here.

Here’s the completed single Selbu mitten.

Oddly, I am finding I WANT to cast on and make the second one. So I probably will not need to attempt my strategy of making a single glove in order to make the second mitten seem easier.

4 Comments
  1. Sandy permalink
    October 30, 2004 8:01 pm

    Dreamy sigh. 🙂 I wish I could somehow bewitch my body to grow Cormo fleece so I never had to be without it. Even in summertime. 🙂

  2. Katie permalink
    October 31, 2004 5:53 pm

    This is not a disease. This is *so* very healthy. Otherwise, I am likewise infected! The black merino looks lovely but I know what you mean about dense – my first yarn is part merino and spun worsted from top and it is quite heavy.
    I just got my fleece (Coopworth cross) back from Yolo Wool Mill in the form of pencil roving and all I can say is WOW this is going to practically spin itself. I have just done a little sample, but wow.

  3. November 1, 2004 7:50 pm

    The black merino looks gorgeous. I don’t know why you don’t like it, Caroline. It looks wonderful. :o)
    Lisa S

  4. November 5, 2004 1:49 am

    Your fair-isle works are fantastic! I am one of those who’s just started getting into this aspect – I *love* cables (because I can tinker and fix them) and lace sometimes.
    Now having a fair isle cum cabled project on hand and the fair isle portion almost cramped my fingers! Your works of art will keep motivating me! 🙂
    Em

Comments are closed.

