Skip to content

Mittens

November 13, 2004
by

The ‘Selbu’ mittens are finished. They’re a teeny bit big in all directions so I’m considering felting them lightly to bring them down in size. We’ll see if I try it.

I found some errors in the pattern (found in Folk Mittens) that I sent to Interweave, and I found one additional one in the thumb chart (but not until I’d already knitted one thumb with the error).

Also I made a mistake knitting one of the thumbs. So if you have sharp eyes maybe you can see two small ways in which the thumbs are not a perfect match?

On the left thumb, it’s hard to see but the center dark stitch of the star is interrupted. about 3/4ths of the way up the motif, in one place by a bar of 5 light stitches – it should be 2 light, one dark, 2 light, and I got it right on the right thumb. Also, I accidentally knitted an extra dark row before starting the chart on the right thumb. Nothing I ever knit is free of these little personal goofups! I’m also not pleased that the caston edge of the right mitten flares so much. How did I manage that, on only one mitten? I’ll never be bored as long as my own knitting is so mysterious to me.
I’m only about 8 rows below the armhole steeks on Saga Rose – pictures in a few days after I set the steeks. I’m thinking of swatching with my troublesome handspun black merino that I finished the other week, to see if it can be turned into anything.

That’s all folks…

4 Comments
  1. November 14, 2004 8:53 am

    I have a love of all things mitteny and these are very beautiful…where was that book? (she says, shuffling stuff around…)

  2. vanessa permalink
    November 15, 2004 3:17 am

    those mittens are gorgeous! i can’t see the booboo, even went you point it out 😉

  3. November 15, 2004 4:48 am

    Caroline – this is like a “where’s waldo?” for knitters! Found ’em, but took some looking. Knitting is endlessly curious.

  4. November 30, 2004 12:39 pm

    Lovely mittens.
    BTW, the AF on the American Cormo tag is Alice Fields. She’s in CT and has the most wonderful fleeces. I got one from her last year at Maryland that I’m eagerly awaiting its return from the fellows as Wooly Knob.

Comments are closed.

