Skip to content

Bustle on the Porch

November 21, 2004
by

Today, some Maryland spinners got to meet one another for a tea. This was laid out adjacent to the porch,

but pretty much we just did this.

That’s Vicki, with her Ashford, and Amie with her Lendrum. Amie’s only been spinning since the summer but she was spinning a wonderfully fine yarn out of some beautiful purple silk. Vicki was spinning up some batts she’d carded and dyed herself. She left me a little sample of llama top to play with. I was still spinning on my wonderful wonderful white Cormo, and I almost have one bobbin full.

We spun and gabbed, and gabbed, and gabbed, and Emily alternately ran wild around the house pulling out every toy she owned, and served everyone handfuls of cookies on toy plates. I was happy to meet some spinners who lived within 60 miles of me. I think we’ll be doing this again.

Here’s a summary of what’s being knitted on the porch. This is Saga Rose, about 20 rows above the armhole steeks.

I just love how these colors work together, it’s pure genius. I went and ordered one more hank of each of the dark blue background colors because I just didn’t want to be worrying about this the whole time I was knitting.

This week, I finished up another little hank of shetland on the spindle. I’ve had this fiber for well over a year and I chip away at it because it spindles so easily. I seem to have a much easier time making lofty softspun yarn on a spindle than I do on a wheel, and that’s what I’m purposely doing with this shetland.

This is the body of the Dale lace cardigan, I’m nearly done with one sleeve. This thing has been in work since June. I’m making faster progress now that I knit on it at lunch time, but there’s still one more entire sleeve plus all the finishing (picot hem trim on the front edges and neckline, and picot hems to sew up all around every other edge, 6 button loops… AAGH!).

It’s in fingering weight Alpafina, which is making a nice fabric but sheds like mad so I’m fearing I won’t be able to show it off over a nice black shirt.

Finally, here is the ‘macaroni and cheese’ fisherman rib scarf, about 3/4ths done. I just love this Mostly Merino yarn and am sad that there does not seem to be anymore to be found anywhere – it’s natural sheep white with dark hairs through it. I’m exploring crocheted edges so that I can put an edging on this with about 20 yards of spindled yarn that I have.

It’s been a very happy fibery day.

6 Comments
  1. November 22, 2004 8:00 am

    AHHH, that looked so relaxing…to spin and yap, yap and spin….and enjoy something yummy! Your sweater is more and more gorgeous everytime I see it! Your right the colors are working very well together!

  2. November 22, 2004 9:49 am

    It was a fun, fibery day! Let’s do it again – soon!

  3. elizabeth permalink
    November 23, 2004 4:56 am

    great stuff! saga rose is coming along beautifully as is the dale!

  4. vanessa permalink
    November 23, 2004 10:37 am

    looks like you had a great time! and the colors of saga rose simply glow.

  5. Katie permalink
    November 23, 2004 11:17 am

    Wow, busy woman! Your spinning day looked like a ton of fun. Saga Rose is gorgeous!

  6. November 23, 2004 1:22 pm

    Carolyn, you and Amie inspired me to create a blog of my own. Thank you for a wonderful afternoon. I am in awe of your gorgeous knitting! Hope to spin with you again soon. šŸ™‚

Comments are closed.

